News Release

Communiqué

Department of External Affairs



Ministère des Affaires extérieures

No. 028

January 26, 1988.

SHARON POLLOCK WINNER OF 1987

CANADA-AUSTRALIA LITERARY PRIZE

The Department of External Affairs, the Canada Council, and the Australia Council announced jointly today that the winner of the Canada-Australia Literary Prize for 1987 is the Canadian playwright Sharon Pollock. The prize consists of \$3,000 and a trip to Australia. Pollock was one of six Canadian writers whose works were selected by a jury appointed by the Canada Council. A jury appointed by the Australia Council then chose the winner.

The prize is designed to make Australians and Canadians familiar with each other's writers. It is awarded annually in alternate years to an English-language Canadian writer or an Australian for the author's complete works. Writers of fiction, poets, and playwrights all are eligible. Next year an Australian writer will receive the cash award and a journey to Canada.

The award is administered in Canada by the Canada Council and in Australia by the Australia Council. Canadian funding is through the Department of External Affairs as part of its program for the promotion of Canadian literature in foreign countries. Australian funding comes through the Australia Council.

Canadian winners of the award have been Alice Munro (1977), Michael Ondaatje (1979), Leon Rooke (1981), Mavis Gallant (1983) and Jack Hodgins (1985). Australian winners have included John Romeril (1976), Thomas Shapcott (1978), Roger McDonald (1980), Barry Oakley (1982), Les A. Murray (1984) and Rodney Hall (1986).

Rodney Hall, as part of his prize, is making a tour across Canada and giving readings from his works. He will be giving a reading and will receive his prize officially at a ceremony at the National Library of Canada, Ottawa, on 16 February 1988.

.../2

Secretary of State for External Affairs Secrétaire d'État aux Affaires extérieures

Canadä

Sharon Pollock

Sharon Pollock was born in 1936 in Fredericton, New Brunswick; she now lives in Calgary, Alberta. The title play in her collection "Blood Relations and Other Plays" won the governor General's Award for drama in 1981, the first year that drama was established as a category seperate from poetry. She won a second governor General's Literary Award for drama (1986) with "Doc", and her play "Whiskey Six Cadenza" is on the short list for the 1987 awards, for which the name of the winner will be announced 11 February 1988. She has written numerous children's plays as well as scripts for radio and television. Among her best known works are "A Compulsory Option" (1979), "Walsh" (1973), "The Komagata Maru Incident" (1976) and "One Tiger to a Hill" (1980).

Informations: Guy Gervais

Head, Literature and Publishing

Arts Promotion Division

Department of External Affairs

(613) 992-6464 or

Naïm Kattan

Head, Writing and Publishing Section

Canada Council (613) 598-4332