

DEPARTMENT OF EXTERNAL AFFAIRS MINISTÈRE DES AFFAIRES EXTÉRIEURES

communiqué

N°: No.: 144

October 4, 1985.

SECRETARY OF STATE FOR EXTERNAL AFFAIRS ADDRESSES THE FIRST MEETING OF THE NATIONAL COMMITTEE ON PACIFIC ECONOMIC COOPERATION

On October 4 in Toronto the Secretary of State for External Affairs, the Right Honourable Joe Clark, addressed the inaugural meeting of the National Committee on Pacific Economic Cooperation. Mr. Clark had earlier in the year announced his intention to form the Committee during the March Meeting of the Pacific Rim Opportunities Conference.

The tripartite Committee, chaired by Mr. Eric Trigg, Senior Vice-President of Alcan Limited, consists of representatives (please see the attached list) from the private sector, the academic community and government. In his address to the Committee the SSEA outlined its broadly-based mandate to relate Canada to the Pacific Economic Cooperation process and to plan for the Pacific Economic Cooperation Conference to be staged in Vancouver November 16-19, 1986. Mr. Clark noted that this latter role would be of considerable importance because the National Committee would be playing host to its counterpart representatives from throughout the Pacific region.

Mr. Clark concluded his remarks by noting that the formulation of the tripartite Committee and the planned Pacific Economic Cooperation Conference in Vancouver marked another important step in strengthening Canada's ties with the countries of the Pacific region.

-30-

Canadä

CANADIAN NATIONAL COMMITTEE ON PACIFIC ECONOMIC COOPERATION

BUSINESS REPRESENTATIVES

Mr. Eric Trigg (Chairman) Vice-President, Alcan Montreal

Mr. J. H. Warren Vice-Chairman Bank of Montreal Toronto

Mrs. Wendy MacDonald President B. C. Bearing Engineers Vancouver

Mr. Ron Dalby President Manalta Coal Calgary

Mr. John Bruk Chairman Asia Pacific Foundation Vancouver

Mr. Jay Hong Trans World Trading Company Toronto

Mrs. Marjorie Ann Sauder Sauder Industries Vancouver

ACADEMIC REPRESENTATIVES

Dr. William Saywell President Simon Fraser University Vancouver

Professor Edward English Department of Economics Carleton University Ottawa

Professor Gordon Munro Department of Economics University of British Columbia Vancouver Professor Karen Minden Political Studies University of Manitoba Winnipeg

Dr. Edward Safarian Department of Economics University of Toronto Toronto

GOVERNMENT REPRESENTATIVES

Mr. Earl G. Drake Assistant Deputy Minister Asia and Pacific Branch Department of External Affairs Ottawa

Mr. John McKeown Deputy Minister B. C. Department of International Trade and Investment Victoria

Mr. Dalles Gendall Deputy Minister Alberta Department of Economic Development Edmonton

Mr. Roger Pruneau Deputy Minister Department of International Trade Quebec City

Mrs. Jean C. McCloskey Director General Pacific Bureau Department of External Affairs Ottawa

PARLIAMENTARY REPRESENTATIVES

Mary Collins, M.P., Capilano, British Columbia Senator Brenda Robertson, Moncton, New Brunswick A. R. Adam, MLA, Ste Rose, Manitoba Lloyd Axworthy, M.P., Fort Garry, Manitoba

- 2 -