

DEPARTMENT OF EXTERNAL AFFAIRS MINISTÈRE DES AFFAIRES EXTÉRIEURES

communiqué

No:

100

June 29, 1984.

APPOINTMENT OF CANADIAN MEMBERS TO THE PERMANENT COURT OF ARBITRATION

The Honourable Allan J. MacEachen, Deputy Prime Minister and Secretary of State for External Affairs, announced today the appointment of the following persons as Canadian Members of the Permanent Court of Arbitration. (Set up under the Convention for the Pacific Settlement of International Disputes of 1899):

- The Honourable Mme Justice Bertha Wilson The Supreme Court of Canada Ottawa, Ontario
- Professor Ronald St.J. Macdonald, Q.C. Faculty of Law Dalhousie University Halifax, Nova Scotia
- 3. Mr. Leonard H. Legault, Q.C. Legal Adviser of the Department of External Affairs Ottawa, Ontario
- Mr. Yves Fortier, Q.C. Messrs. Ogilvy & Renault Montréal, Québec



.../2

Members of the Permanent Court of Arbitration hold office for six years and serve without honorarium. They are drawn from four constituencies of the Canadian legal community: the Bench, the academic community, the public service and the practising bar.

In addition to duties as arbitrators which they may be called on to perform, the Canadian Members also serve as the Canadian National Group for the International Court of Justice. The function of the Group is to submit nominations to the Secretary-General of the United Nations for the election of judges of the International Court of Justice. The elections are conducted by the General Assembly and the Security Council with candidates obtaining an absolute majority of votes in both forums being declared elected. next elections will be held in the fall of 1984 during the 39th Session of the General Assembly. International Court of Justice consists of fifteen members who serve for a period of nine years. The late Mr. Justice John E. Read, formerly legal adviser of the Department of External Affairs, served as a Member of the Court from 1946 to 1958.