

DEPARTMENT OF EXTERNAL AFFAIRS MINISTÈRE DES AFFAIRES EXTÉRIEURES

communiqué

N°: 138

DIFFUSION: FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE RELEASE: SEPTEMBER 21, 1982

SECRETARY OF STATE FOR EXTERNAL AFFAIRS
TO LEAD THE CANADIAN DELEGATION
AT THE 37TH SESSION OF THE
UNITED NATIONS GENERAL ASSEMBLY

The Secretary of State for External Affairs, the Honourable Allan J. MacEachen, announced today the composition of the Canadian Delegation to the 37th regular session of the United Nations General Assembly, which convenes at United Nations Headquarters, New York, on Tuesday, September 21. Mr. MacEachen will head the Delegation, whose principal members are listed overleaf.

Mr. MacEachen will address the General Assembly in the afternoon on Monday, September 27. He will meet with Mr. Javier Perez de Cuellar, Secretary-General of the United Nations, on Thursday morning, September 30, and will also have bilateral discussions with several Foreign Ministers from other countries.

THE CANADIAN DELEGATION TO THE 37TH REGULAR SESSION OF THE UNITED NATIONS GENERAL ASSEMBLY

Representatives

The Honourable Allan J. MacEachen (Chairman of the Delegation)

Secretary of State for External Affairs

The Honourable Pierre De Bané

Minister of State (External Relations)

The Honourable Gérard Pelletier, P.C. (Vice-Chairman of the Delegation)

Ambassador and Permanent Representative of Canada to the United Nations, New York

Mr. Maurice Dupras

Member of Parliament Labelle, Quebec

Miss Coline Campbell

Member of Parliament South West Nova, N.S.

Alternate Representatives

Mr. J. Alan Beesley, Q.C.

Mr. Charles J. Clark, Q.C.

Ambassador

Attorney

Windsor, Ontario

Mr. Thomas Sutherland, Q.C.

Attorney

Burlington, Ontario

Mr. David Lee

Minister and Deputy Permanent Representative of Canada to

Mr. Philippe Kirsch

the United Nations, New York
Bureau of Legal Affairs
Department of External Affair

Special Advisors

Prof. Robert Carbone

Faculty of Administration

Sciences

Laval University

Prof. James De Wilde

Department of Political Stud Queen's University Dr. Malcolm MacDonnell

Commissioner Canadian Human Rights Commission

Prof. Edward McWhinney

Department of Political Science

and Public Law

Simon Fraser University

Prof. Murielle Roy

Director, Centre for Acadian

Studies

University of Moncton

Prof. Michael Tucker

Department of Political Science

Mount Allison University

Prof. Tova Yedlin

Department of Slavic and East European Studies University of Alberta