

DEPARTMENT OF EXTERNAL AFFAIRS MINISTÈRE DES AFFAIRES EXTÉRIEURES

commun

No:

No.:

RELEASE:

DIFFUSION: FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

OCTOBER 17, 1980

APPOINTMENTS TO THE BOARD OF GOVERNORS OF THE INTERNATIONAL DEVELOPMENT RESEARCH CENTRE (IDRC)

The Secretary of State for External Affairs, Dr. Mark MacGuigan, announced today the appointment of a new Chairman and five other new members to the Board of Governors of the International Development Research Centre. The re-appointment of three Governors was also announced.

The new Chairman is the Honourable Donald S. Macdonald of Toronto, Ontario. The new Governors are Felipe Herrera of Santiago, Chile, Francis Keppel of Cambridge, USA, and from Canada, Dr. Frank A. DeMarco of Windsor, Ontario, David Lawless of Winnipeg, Manitoba, and Marcel Massé of Ottawa, Ontario. The Governors re-appointed are the Honourable Rex Nettleford of Kingston, Jamaica, Sir Geoffrey Wilson of Oxford, United Kingdom, and Norman Currie of Toronto, Ontario.

The International Development Research Centre is a public corporation created by the Parliament of Canada in 1970 to enhance the research competence of scientists in the developing countries. It does so through support of research designed to adapt science and technology to the needs of the developing countries. The Act of Parliament establishing the Centre provided for a Board of Governors of 21 persons, to be appointed by the Government of Canada. Eleven of the Governors, including the Chairman, must be Canadian citizens. It has been the consistant practice to draw the other Governors internationally from persons, many of them in developing countries, who have made notable contributions in the field of development.

Brief biographic notes on the appointees follow:

The Honourable Donald S. Macdonald (Canada) is a lawyer and former public servant. During a long public service career, he held several portfolios including Finance; Energy, Mines and Resources; and National Defence. At present, he is a partner with McCarthy and McCarthy, Toronto.

Mr. Norman T. Currie (Canada) is a chartered accountant by profession and is currently President and Chief Executive Officer of Corporate Foods Limited. He was first appointed Governor of IDRC in 1973.

<u>Dr. Frank A. DeMarco</u> (Canada) is a university administrator and chemical engineer. He is at present Senior Vice-President, University of Windsor, Windsor.

Mr. Francis Keppel (USA) is an educational administrator. He is a former Dean of Education at Harvard University and at present is Chairman of the Education Programme of the Aspen Institute for Humanistic Studies.

Mr. Felipe Herrera (Chile) is a banker and lawyer. A former President of the Inter-American Development Bank and Executive Director of the International Monetary Fund, he is now Chairman of an Organization of American States Group on New Hemispheric Policy.

<u>Dr. David Lawless</u> (Canada) is a psychologist and educator. He is currently Vice-President (Academic), University of Manitoba, Winnipeg.

Mr. Marcel Massé (Canada) a lawyer, economist and public servant, was formerly Clerk of the Privy Council and Secretary to the Cabinet. He is now President of the Canadian International Development Agency.

The <u>Honourable Rex Nettleford</u> (Jamaica) is Director of Studies, Trade Union Education Institute, University of West Indies. He is the sole remaining member of the original IDRC Board.

Sir Geoffrey Wilson (UK) is Chairman of OXFAM, England. His former appointments include Deputy Secretary General (Economic) Commonwealth Secretariat; Permanent Secretary, Overseas Development Ministry; and Vice-President, World Bank. He was first appointed to the IDRC Board in 1974.