

DEPARTMENT OF EXTERNAL AFFA!RS MINISTÈRE DES AFFAIRES EXTÉRIEURES



The Secretary of State for External Affairs, the Honourable Allan J. MacEachen, announced today that the Honourable Hugh Faulkner, Secretary of State, will be the Chairman of the Canadian Delegation to the 18th Session of the General Conference of the United Nations the 18th Session for Education, Science and Culture (UNESCO), to be held Organization for Education, Science and Culture (UNESCO), to be held in Paris from October 17 through November 22.

This conference, which is convened every two years, will be held at the permanent headquarters of UNESCO. Representatives from more than one hundred and thirty countries will consider the two-year and five-year programmes of UNESCO in such fields as education, the exact and natural sciences, social sciences, humanities, culture and communications.

Canadian member of UNESCO's Executive Board, The Honourable Thomas Wells, Minister of Education of the Province of Ontario, Dr. L.H. Cragg, President of Mount Allison University and Chairman of the Canadian Commission for UNESCO, and Mr. Jean-Louis Gagnon, Canadian Ambassador and Permanent Delegate to UNESCO, will serve as vice-chairmen of the Delegation.

The following will also be members of the Canadian delegation:

## Alternate delegates:

Mrs. Cortrude Laing,
Canada Council,
Past member of the Royal Commission on Bilingualism
and Biculturalism.

Mr. Louis Pelletier, Director-General of Adult Education, Province of Quebec

Dr. J. Guy Sylvestre, National Librarian, National Library of Canada.

Dr. J. Rennie Whitehead, Special Adviser to the Secretary, Ministry of State for Science and Technology.

Dr. Maurice Richer, Secretary-General, Council of Ministers of Education, Canada.

## <u>Advisers</u>

Dr. Cyril Belshaw, Head of the Department of Anthropology, University of British Columbia.

Mr. Peter Grant, Lawyer, McCarthy and McCarthy, Toronto, Ontario.

Mr. Russell Ewing, Director, Programmes and Services, Department of Education, Prince Edward Island.

Mr. Peter Roberts, Assistant Under-Secretary of State, Secretary of State Department.

Mr. David Bartlett, Secretary-General, Canadian Commission for UNESCO.

Mrs. Louise Rohonczy, International Development Research Centre, Former member of the Canadian Commission for UNESCO.

Mr. d'Iberville Fortier, Assistant Under-Secretary of State for External Affairs.

Representatives of federal departments and agencies (11)

on the delegation as expert advisers.