

CANADA

CONFERENCE OF MINISTERS FOR THE PUBLIC SERVICE OF FRENCH-SPEAKING COUNTRIES BELONGING TO THE AGENCY FOR CULTURAL AND TECHNICAL COOPERATION.

LOME, TOGO, JANUARY 17-24, 1971

DEPARTMENT OF EXTERNAL AFFAIRS MINISTÈRE DES AFFAIRES EXTÉRIEURES The Secretary of State for External Affairs, the Honourable Mitchell Sharp, announced today that Canada will participate in the Conference of Ministers for the Public Service of French-speaking Countries belonging to the Agency for Cultural and Technical Cooperation, which will take place at Lome, Republic of Togo, January 17-24. The decision to have this conference was made in June 1970 by the Agency's Council of Administration; it was called by the Agency's Secretary General Mr. Jean-Marc Léger. The Government of the Republic of Togo agreed to be host.

This will be the first conference of ministers for the Public Service of member countries of the Agency. One of the most important points on the agenda will be the examination of a proposal for an international school for training in management techniques, with particular emphasis on developing countries. This school will be the most important project on the Agency's program for 1971.

If the project appears feasible, this institution, which will have an international staff, may begin operation in September 1971 to provide advanced training in modern management techniques for senior members of the Public Service of member countries of the Agency.

The Chairman of the Canadian delegation will be the Honourable Gérard Pelletier, Secretary of State for Canada and will include representatives of the governments of Quebec, New Brunswick, Ontario and Manitoba. A list of its members is attached.

### CONFERENCE OF MINISTERS OF THE PUBLIC SERVICE

## Lome, Togo, January 17 to 24, 1971

## Canadian Delegation

Mr. Gérard Pelletier, Secretary of State of Canada, President of the Delegation.

### Quebec:

Mr. Jean-Paul L'Allier, Minister of Communications and Minister of the Public Service of Quebec.

## New Brunswick:

Mr. Armand Saintonge, Deputy Minister of Education of New Brunswick.

#### Ontario:

Mr. Mark Larratt-Smith, Office of the Premier of Ontario.

### Manitoba:

Mr. Sidney Green, Minister of Mines and Natural Resources and Commissioner of Northern Affairs of Manitoba.

# Counsellors:

- Mr. Léopold Amyot, Co-ordination Division, Department of External Affairs, Canada.
- Mr. Roch Bolduc, Deputy Minister, Department of the Public Service of Quebec.
- Mr. Michel Chaloult, Counsellor, Division of International Relations, Department of Intergovernmental Affairs of Quebec.
- Mr. Guy R. d'Avignon, Director of Planning Service, Public Service Commission of Canada.
- Mr. Michel de Goumois, Counsellor, Canadian Embassy, Dakar.
- Mr. Jean-Marie Dery, Division for Relations Among French-speaking Countries, Department of External Affairs, Canada.
- Mr. Pierre Emond, Director of the Office of the Secretary of State of Canada.

- Mr. Charles A. Lussier, Commissioner, Public Service Commission of Canada.
- Mr. Jacques Noel, Department of the Public Service of Quebec.
- Mr. Roland Parenteau, Director of the National School of Administration of Quebec.
- Mr. Maxwell F. Yalden, Assistant Under-Secretary of State of Canada.