PRESS RELEASE

DEPARTMENT OF EXTERNAL AFFAIRS



COMMUNIQUÉ

MINISTÈRE DES AFFAIRES EXTÉRIEURES

No. 18

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE OCTOBER 6, 1967

Canadians Appointed to Permanent Court of Arbitration

The Secretary of State for External Affairs, the Honourable Paul Martin, announced today the appointment by the Canadian Government of the following persons as members of the Canadian National Group on the Permanent Court of Arbitration.

- 1. The Honourable Mr. Justice D.C. Abbott, The Supreme Court of Canada, Ottawa.
- Alexander H. Jeffery, Esq., Q.C., 174 King Street, London.
- 3. Professeur P.A. Crépeau, Office de revision du Code civil, 407, Boulevard Saint-Laurent, Montreal.
- 4. Monsieur Marcel Cadieux, Q.C., Under-Secretary of State for External Affairs, Ottawa.

Canada actively supports the Permanent Court of Arbitration and our Ambassador in The Hague represents Canada on its Administrative Council. Sixtyfive other countries are members of the Court which was established in 1899 for the settlement of disputes between States.

In addition to the duties of arbitrators which the members of the Canadian National Group may be called upon to perform, they also carry out an important supplementary function provided for in the Statute of the International Court of Justice. This function is to make nominations for the election of

... 2

judges to the International Court of Justice. Under the Statute, they are authorized to nominate four candidates for election to the Court whose names are communicated to the Secretary-General of the United Nations. The Secretary-General then notifies member governments of the United Nations of all nominations prior to the actual elections which are conducted by the General Assembly and the Security Council. Candidates who obtain an absolute majority of votes in last both forums are considered elected. The/regular elections for five judges of the Court were conducted in 1966 during the twenty-first session of the General Assembly.

The International Court of Justice consists of fifteen members, no two of whom may be nationals of the same State. While no Canadian is a member of the Court at the present time, there was a Canadian on the Court, Mr. Justice John E. Read, whose term of office expired in 1958.

Members of the Canadian National Group on the Permanent Court of Arbitration hold office for six years and serve without honorarium. The present group is drawn from the various branches of the legal profession in Canada, the Bench and Practising Bar, Academic Faculties and Government Service.

- 30 -

- 2 -