

PRESS RELEASE

DEPARTMENT OF EXTERNAL AFFAIRS
OTTAWA - CANADA

No.29

FOR RELEASE IN ALL PAPERS OF THURSDAY, JUNE 17, 1954.

The Department of External Affairs announced today that, following the coming into force on June 7 of the Canada-Japan Agreement on Commerce, the Executive Secretary of the General Agreement on Tariffs and Trade has been notified that Canada now accepts the GATT Declaration concerning the application of the General Agreement to commercial relations between the Contracting Parties and Japan. This Declaration was opened for acceptance during the Eighth Session of the Contracting Parties to the GATT in October 1953, as part of the arrangements which were adopted for Japan to participate in the General Agreement on a provisional basis pending tariff negotiations. The Executive Secretary of the GATT was informed that Canada's acceptance of the Declaration was subject to the provisions of the Agreement on Commerce between Canada and Japan. This reflected the understanding between Canada and Japan recorded in the official minute appended to the Agreement on Commerce that this Agreement would continue to be applicable in the event that the GATT is applied between Canada and Japan. Commercial relations between Canada and Japan therefore are now governed by the GATT and the Canada-Japan Agreement on Commerce.

Note for Correspondents

While it is recognised that the Canada-Japan Agreement on Commerce and the supplementary exchanges of notes are consistent with the GATT, the provisions in the Agreement on Commerce concerning the non-discriminatory application of exchange and import controls are somewhat stronger and more specific than the present provisions of the GATT. In addition the supplementary exchange of notes concerning valuation are more precise and explicit than the similar provisions of the General Agreement.

The Deplaration has been accepted by the following other Contracting Parties:

Austria

India

Belgium

Italy

Brazil

Luxembourg

Burma

Netherlands

Coylon

Nicaragua

Chile

Norway

Denmark

Pakistan

Dominican Republic

Sweden

Finland

Turkey

Germany

United States

Greece

Uruguay

Haiti