

DEPARTMENT OF EXTERNAL AFFAIRS MINISTÈRE DES AFFAIRES EXTÉRIEURES

communiqué

N°: No.: 204

October 22, 1987.

APPOINTMENT OF A CANADIAN MEMBER TO THE PERMANENT COURT OF ARBITRATION

The Right Honourable Joe Clark, Secretary of State for External Affairs, announced today the appointment of Mr. Edward G. Lee, Q.C., Legal Advisor and Assistant Deputy Minister, Legal, Consular and Immigration Affairs, in the Department of External Affairs, as a Canadian Member of the Permanent Court of Arbitration established under the 1899 Convention for the Pacific Settlement of International Disputes.

Mr. Lee replaces Mr. Léonard H. Legault, Q.C., Minister (Economic Affairs) and Deputy Head of Mission in the Canadian Embassy in Washington, who resigned on July 21, 1987. Mr. Lee will complete the term of Mr. Legault which expires on June 29, 1990. The other three Canadian members of the Permanent Court of Arbitration are Mme. Justice Bertha Wilson, Mr. Yves Fortier, Q.C., and Professor Edward McWhinney, Q.C.

Members of the Permanent Court of Arbitration hold office for six years and serve without honorarium. They are drawn from the four constituencies of the Canadian legal community: the Bench, the academic community, the public service and the practicing Bar.

.../2

Canadä

In addition to the duties as arbitrators which they may be called on to perform, the Canadian Members also constitute the Canadian National Group under the Statute of the International Court of The function of the Group is to submit Justice. nominations to the Secretary-General of the United Nations for the election of the judges of the International Court of Justice by the General Assembly and the Security Council. Candidates must obtain an absolute majority of votes in each of these two fora to be declared elected. The next elections will be held in November. The International Court of Justice consists of fifteen members who serve for a term of nine years. The late Mr. Justice John E. Read, a former Legal Advisor of the Department of External Affairs, served as a member of the Court from 1946 to 1958.

- 30 -