

## DEPARTMENT OF EXTERNAL AFFAIRS MINISTÈRE DES AFFAIRES EXTÉRIEURES

# communiqué

Nº:

No.: 053

March 20, 1987.

### ANNIVERSARY OF THE AGENCY FOR CULTURAL AND TECHNICAL COOPERATION

### AND SECOND FRANCOPHONE SUMMIT,

### QUEBEC CITY

The Right Honourable Joe Clark, Secretary of State for External Affairs, is pleased to mark the anniversary of the creation, on March 20, 1970 in Niamey, Niger, of the Agency for Cultural and Technical Cooperation (the ACCT), the most important of the Francophone inter-governmental organizations. Canada was one of the founders of the ACCT, which today includes 39 countries and governments from the five continents united by the commun use of French. The ACCT is primarily involved in activities linked to cooperation.

The Heads of State and Heads of Government of the countries using French as a common language who met at the Paris Summit in February 1986 confirmed the current direction being taken by the ACCT and encouraged it to engage in a reform process that would enable it to respond to their expectations and to the decisions made at the Summit. This reform process is now under way.

The second Francophone Summit, which will be held in Quebec City on September 2, 3 and 4, 1987 will be in a position to better determine what institutional configuration it wants la Francophonie to achieve. Participants will be able to confirm and to consolidate the policies already outlined in Paris to foster cooperation among themselves in the sectors of priority importance to la Francophonie internationally. It will also provide an opportunity to reinforce the dialogue and cooperation needed in dealing with common political and economic needs.

On this the 17th anniversary of the ACCT, Canada wishes to underscore its attachment to la Francophonie and its institutions. By hosting in Quebec City the second Summit of Heads of State and Government of Countries using French as a common language, the people of Canada will be given the opportunity to strengthen their solidarity with other countries that share the use of one of our official languages.