Minister for International Trade



Communiqué

Ministre du Commerce extérieur

No. 61

March 13, 1991

MINISTER CROSBIE PRESENTS CHALLENGE CUP TO MCGILL UNIVERSITY

John C. Crosbie today presented the Minister for International Trade Challenge Cup to the members of the McGill University team, winners of the annual Dalhousie University International Business Case Competition.

Mr. Crosbie said, "Canadian business schools are to be commended for the quality of education they are providing our future business leaders. In making the first annual presentation of the Challenge Cup, I would like to stress the importance of international business education in today's increasingly competitive and global business environment. The McGill team should be proud of its accomplishments and I personally congratulate the individual members on their efforts."

Organized by the Dalhousie University International Business Society and sponsored by Maritime Telegraph and Telephone, the competition brought 13 university teams from Canada and the United States together to evaluate and solve a business case based on the real experience of a firm.

Sixty-five MBA students took part in this year's competition, which was held in two separate rounds. During the first round on January 31, 1991, each team was allowed five hours to examine the case and fax their results back to the judges, a group of Nova Scotia business people.

From this round, three teams were selected to evaluate a new case on February 2 via a videoconferencing system. The judges for round two included Sir Graham Day, Chairman, Rover Group and Cadbury-Schweppes; Sonja Bata, Bata Ltd.; Reg Dorrett, Assistant Deputy Minister, External Affairs and International Trade Canada; Dr. Hugh Hamilton, Northern Telecom; and Ivan Duvar, President, Maritime Telegraph and Telephone.

McGill University, the first winner of the Minister for International Trade Challenge Cup also receives the Maritime Telegraph and Telephone - Dalhousie International Business Case Trophy. This trophy has been awarded annually for the last five years. The Cup was specially designed and produced for the presentation by Aitkens Pewter of Fredericton, New Brunswick.

Following the Minister's presentation, members of the McGill team will take part in a series of briefings with departmental officials on current international trade issues.

The student members of the winning McGill team are Kushroo Dadyburjor, Brad Spence, Sid Mohapatra, Chandra Kumar and Michael Lapenna. Dr Wallace Crowston, Dean of the Faculty of Management, also attended the ceremony.

- 30 -

For further information, media representatives may contact:

Media Relations Office External Affairs and International Trade Canada (613) 995-1874