

No. 17

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE MARCH 27, 1972

CANADA-DENMARK FISHING AGREEMENT

DEPARTMENT OF EXTERNAL AFFAIRS MINISTÈRE DES AFFAIRES EXTÉRIEURES The Secretary of State for External Affairs, the Honourable Mitchell Sharp, today signed an Agreement between Canada and Denmark respecting the Danish fishery in Canada's territorial sea and fishing zones.

The Agreement was negotiated at meetin s in Ottawa in February and June last year under the leadership of J. Alan Beesley, Legal Adviser to the Department of External Affairs for the Canadian side and under the leadership of IIr. W. McIlquham Schmidt, Deputy Under-Secretary of State for External Affairs for the Danish side. A list of the delegates is annexed hereto.

The Agreement, which comes into force at once, is included in an exchange of Notes signed by the Secretary of State for External Affairs and the Danish Ambassador, His Excellency A. Bogh Andersen. It takes into account the June 1970 amendments to the Territorial Sea and Fishing Zones Act of Canada whereby the breadth of Canada's territorial sea was extended from 3 to 12 miles and the basis was laid for the establishment of exclusive Canadian fishing zones in certain special bodies of water off Canada's east and west coasts. These special bodies of water, including the Gulf of St. Lawrence, were enclosed by fisheries closing lines which came into force on March 10, 1971.

Under the Agreement, Danish fishing vessels from the Faroe Islands terminated their fishing operation in Canada's territorial sea on January 1, 1972. Faroese fishermen may continue, however, to fish in the Gulf of St. Lawrence until January 1, 1975 and thereafter for a further period under licence which expires in the case of trawlers on May 15, 1976 and in the case of longliners on December 31, 1976. Faroese vessels may continue to fish for porbeagle sharks in the Gulf until the end of 1974 and thereafter on the basis of a licence to be issued by the Canadian authorities with provision for the termination of these licences by the Canadian authorities.

The Agreement, which recognizes Canadian jurisdiction in the areas in question was concluded in a constructive and co-operative spirit and will assist the Government of Canada in its efforts to protect the fishery off Canada's east coast.

AHLEXE

Canadian Representatives:

Mr. J. A. Beesley, Legal Adviser, Department of External Affairs

Mr. T. C. Bacon, Environmental Law Section, Legal Operations Division, Department of External Affairs

Mr. E. J. Cooper, Canadian Hydrographic Service, Marine Sciences Branch, Department of Pishories and Forestry

Dr. W. M. Sprules, Director, International Fisheries Branch, Department of Fisheries and Forestry

Mr. J. W. Carroll, Acting Assistant Director, Conservation and Protection Branch, Fisheries Service, Department of Pisheries and Forestry

Danish Representatives:

Hr. W. McIlquham Schmidt, Deputy Under-Secretary of State for External Affairs, Ministry of Foreign Affairs.

H.E. A. Bogh Andersen, Ambassador of Denmark, Uttawa.

Hr. G. A. F. Blachr, Assistant Head of Department, Hinistry of Foreign Affairs.

Mr. S. E. M. Thamsborg, Head of Hydrographic Department.

Mr. E. Hesselbjerg, Head of Department, Hinistry of Greenland. Danish Representatives (Contd):

(From Faroe Islands)

Mr. Fli Nolsoe, Member of Iocal Government

Mr. Johan Bjurhuus, Head of Department, Local Government Administration

Mr. Ole Jacon Jensen, Captain

Mr. Svend Thulesen, Managing Director.