News Release

Communiqué

Department of External Affairs



Ministère des Affaires extérieures

No. 112

May 31, 1988.

THIRD UNITED NATIONS SPECIAL SESSION

ON DISARMAMENT

New York, May 31 - June 25, 1988

The Secretary of State for External Affairs, the Right Honourable Joe Clark, announced today that he will head the Canadian Delegation to the Third United Nations Special Session on Disarmament, which begins on May 31 in New York. Mr. Clark will deliver the main Canadian address to the Special Session the afternoon of Monday, June 13.

As with the First and Second United Nations Special Sessions on Disarmament held in 1978 and 1982, respectively, the Third Special Session will be a high-profile event. Canada's objectives will include support for and enhancement of the current East-West arms control negotiations and the improvement of the multilateral arms control and disarmament process.

The Canadian Delegation, listed below, will include 15 Parliamentarians as Observers and 19 non-governmental representatives as Special Advisers.

Representatives:

The Right Honourable Joe Clark, P.C., M.P. Secretary of State for External Affairs, Ottawa

Mr. Douglas Roche, (Deputy Head of Delegation) Canadian Ambassador for Disarmament, Ottawa

Mr. Stephen Lewis, Permanent Representative to the United Nations in New York

.../2

Secretary of State for External Affairs Secrétaire d'État aux Affaires extérieures



Mr. de Montigny Marchand, Permanent Representative to the United Nations in Geneva and to the Conference on Disarmament

Mr. Ralph Lysyshyn Director, Arms Control and Disarmament Division Department of External Affairs, Ottawa

Parliamentary Observers:

The Honourable Allan Lawrence, P.C., M.P.

The Honourable Walter McLean, P.C., M.P.

The Honourable Warren Allmand, P.C., M.P.

Mr. Lorne McCuish, M.P.

Mr. Fred King, M.P.

Mr. Jim Hawkes, M.P.

Mr. Reg Stackhouse, M.P.

Mr. Bill Blaikie, M.P.

Mr. Neil Young, M.P.

Mr. Dan McKenzie, M.P.

Mr. Ricardo Lopez, M.P.

Mr. George Baker, M.P.

The Honourable Martha P. Bielish, Senator The Honourable Mira Spivak, Senator The Honourable Royce Frith, Senator

Special Advisers:

Dr. Mary Wynne Ashford, Canadian Physicians for the
Prevention of Nuclear War, Victoria
His Worship Gordon Campbell, Mayor of Vancouver
Mme. Marie Hélène Boyle, Advisory Council of the Status of
Women, Montreal

Dr. Roberta Carey, Beyond War, Edmonton

Dr. Harriet W. Critchley, retired Board member of CIIPS, University of Calgary

Mr. C.G. Gifford, Veterans Against Nuclear War, Halifax

Mrs. Joanne Harris, Educators For Peace, St. John's

Ms. Leona Heuver, Girl Guides of Canada, Winterburn, Alberta

Dr. John W. Holmes, Canadian Institute of International

Affairs, Toronto

Ms. Sheena Lambert, Canadian Peace Alliance, Vancouver

M. Albert Legault, Université Laval, Québec

M. Jacques Levesque, Université du Québec, CIIPS Board, Montréal

Ms. Lynn Marriott, World Without War, Belleville

Dr. Hanna Newcombe, Peace Research Institute, Dundas, Ontario Prof. J.G. Quenneville, Thomas More College, Saskatoon

Mr. Robert Reford, Reford-McCandless, Toronto

Ms. Metta Spencer, Peace Magazine, Toronto

Mr. Nicholas Stetham, Strategic Analysis Group, Toronto

Ms. Jill Wright, Island Peace Committee, Charlottetown

The delegation will be assisted by representatives from the Department of External Affairs and National Defence, as well as from the Canadian Permanent Missions to the United Nations at New York and Geneva.