

DEPARTMENT OF EXTERNAL AFFAIRS MINISTÈRE DES AFFAIRES EXTÉRIEURES

communiqué

N°: 122

nue

August 30, 1984

DIPLOMATIC APPOINTMENTS

The Honourable Jean Chrétien, Deputy Prime Minister and Secretary of State for External Affairs, announces the following diplomatic appointments:

Mr. Derek Clement Arnould (55) born in Beuthen, Upper Silesia, as High Commissioner to Tanzania with concurrent accreditation to Mauritius, the Seychelles and Madagascar.

Mr. Arnould (B.A., Queen's University, 1949) joined the Department of External Affairs in 1955. He has served abroad at the Permanent Mission of Canada to the United Nations in New York, Prague, Accra, Brussels and Peking. He also served in London, at the Royal College of Defence Studies, and again in 1978 in Brussels as a member of the NATO International Staff. He replaces Mr. Karl Johansen who will return to Canada.

.../2



Mr. James Ross Francis (53) born in Winnipeg, Manitoba, as Ambassador to Finland.

Mr. Francis (B.A., University of Manitoba, 1952; M.A., Rhodes Scholar, Oxford University, 1954) joined the Department of External Affairs in 1954. He has served in Laos, South Africa, Indonesia, and Britain. In 1978 Mr. Francis was named High Commissioner to Kuala Lumpur with concurrent accreditation to Brunei. In 1981, he accepted a position as a Visiting Professor at the University of Calgary. In 1982, Mr. Francis was named to his present post in External Affairs as Director, Defence Relations Division. He replaces A.W.J. Robertson who is returning to Canada.

Mr. John Maurice Harrington (60) born in Cromer, England, as Ambassador to Norway, with concurrent accreditation to Iceland.

Mr. Harrington (B.A. 1946, M.A. 1947, University of Western Ontario, M.Sc., London School of Economics, 1949) joined the Department of External Affairs in 1950. He has served abroad in Yugoslavia, England and Japan. In 1972 he was named High Commissioner to Jamaica with concurrent accreditation to the Bahamas and Belize. In 1976 and 1977-79 respectively, he was a Visiting Professor at the University of Toronto and Deputy Commandant of the National Defence College in Kingston. Since that time he has served on secondments to the Department of Finance and the Ministry of State for Science and Technology, before being named to his present position as Director, Social Policy and Programmes Division in External Affairs. He replaces Mr. W.K. Wardroper who will return to Canada.

Mr. Marc Lemieux (48) born in Québec City, Québec, as Ambassador to Ethiopia.

Mr. Lemieux [B.A. 1963, M.A. 1967, (Geography) Laval University] joined the Trade Commissioner Service in 1967. He has served abroad in Hong Kong, Dallas, U.S.A., and Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. In 1980 he was the Principal Counsel in the Royal Commission on Conditions of the Foreign Service. In 1981 he served as Director of the Food Branch before being named in 1983 to his present position in External Affairs as Director, South and South East Asia Trade Development Division. He replaces Mr. W. Agnès who is retiring.

Mr. John R. MacLachlan (56) born in Hardisty, Alberta, as High Commissioner to Guyana, with concurrent accreditation to Suriname.

Mr. MacLachlan (B.A., Royal Military College, 1953; B.A. Economics, Queen's University, 1955) joined the Department of Manpower and Immigration in 1966. He has served abroad in the Philippines, Trinidad and Tobago, the United States of America, and Hong Kong. In 1981 he served in the Management Review Division of External Affairs before being appointed to his present position as Consul General in Birmingham, England. Mr. MacLachlan replaces Mr. Julian H. Payne who has returned to Canada.

Mr. Manfred von Nostitz (43) born in Paris, France, as High Commissioner to Malaysia.

Mr. von Nostitz (M.A. 1965, University of Toronto) joined the Department of External Affairs in 1967. He has served abroad in Vietnam, Austria, the Federal Republic of Germany, Thailand, and the United States. In 1981, Mr. von Nostitz became Director, South and Southeast Asia Division. In 1983, he was named to his present position as Director, United States General Relations Division. He replaces Mr. C.J. Small who is retiring.