

DEPARTMENT OF EXTERNAL AFFAIRS MINISTÈRE DES AFFAIRES EXTÉRIEURES

communiqué

N°: 90

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
JULY 21, 1983

1982 CANADA-BELGIUM LITERARY PRIZE TO CANADIAN POET FRANÇOIS CHARRON

The Department of External Affairs and the Canada Council announced today that the Canadian poet François Charron has been awarded the Canada-Belgium Literary Prize for 1982. This annual \$2,500 prize is awarded in alternate years to French-language writers in Canada and Belgium. The jury's decision is based on an assessment of the author's overall contribution to literature rather than on an individual work. The prize is administered by the Canada Council and Canadian financing is through the Cultural Affairs Division, Arts Promotion, of the Department of External Affairs.

The winners are selected by a jury appointed by the Belgian Ministry of French Community and by the Canada Council. This year the Belgian jury was composed of Charles Bertin, Claire Lejeune of the Conseil national de l'art dramatique, Pierre Mertens, and Marc Quaghebeur of the Belgian Ministry of French Community.

Born in Longueuil, Quebec, in 1952, François Charron has published 15 collections of poetry since 1972. In addition, he is a frequent contributor to Quebecois, French and Belgian literary periodicals. In 1979, he was the first winner of the Emile-Nelligan Prize for his work Blessures. Since 1975, François Charron has devoted himself to painting as well as writing, and his works have been exhibited in a number of Montreal galleries. His recent writing, published by Les Herbes rouges, includes: 1980 (1981), Mystère (1981), La Passion d'autonomie: littérature et nationalisme (1982), Toute parole m'éblouira (1982) and D'où viennent les tableaux? (1983).

.../2





Previous Belgian prize winners are Geo Norge, who received the inaugural award in 1971, Suzanne Lilar (1973), Pierre Mertens (1975), Marcel Moreau (1977), Hubert Juin (1979), and Jacques-Gérard Linze (1981). The prize has been awarded to the Canadian writers Gaston Miron (1972), Réjean Ducharme (1974), Marie-Claire Blais (1976), Jacques Godbout (1978), and Victor-Lévy Beaulieu (1980).