

No. 18

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE MARCH 14, 1977

EXTERNAL AFFAIRS AFFAIRES EXTERIEURES OTTAWA AFM 1977 LIBRARY/BIBLIOTHÈQUE

CANADIAN REPRESENTATION AT THE UNITED NATIONS WATER CONFERENCE

MAR DEL PLATA, ARGENTINA MARCH 14-25, 1977

DEPARTMENT OF EXTERNAL AFFAIRS MINISTÈRE DES AFFAIRES EXTÉRIEURES The Secretary of State for External Affairs, the Honourable Don Jamieson, announced today the composition of the official Canadian representation at the United Nations Water Conference which is taking place in Mar del Plata, Argentina, from March 14 to 25, 1977.

The United Nations General Assembly in 1975 decided to convene a water conference to consider how best to manage the global fixed stock of water in order to avoid a potential water crisis within the next few years. The Conference will consider the problem of supply, the available technology and the various management techniques and policies which might be adopted.

The Canadian Delegation will be led by the Honourable Raymond Perrault, P.C., Government Leader in the Senate. Senator Perrault was born in Vancouver, British Columbia in 1926. He was a member of the British Columbia legislature from 1960 to 1968, and was elected to the House of Commons in 1968. He was summoned to the Senate in 1973 and became Government Leader in 1974. Senator Perrault has participated in a number of international conferences including the United Nations General Assembly in 1969, the International Labour Organization Conference in Geneva in 1972 and the Habitat Conference on Human Settlements, which was held in Vancouver in 1976.

The Honourable Sydney Green, Minister of Mines, Resources and Environmental Affairs in the Province of Manitoba, and Chairman of the Canadian Council of Resource and Environment Ministers, will act as Deputy Head of Delegation.

The other members of the Delegation will be:

Mr. A.P. Bissonnet Ambassador of Canada to the Argentine Republic

The Honourable Neil Byers Minister of the Environment Province of Saskatchewan The Honourable Gilbert Clements Minister of the Environment Province of Prince Edward Island

The Honourable Fernand Dubé Minister of the Environment Province of New Brunswick

The Honourable George Kerr Minister of the Environment Province of Ontario

The Honourable Marcel Léger Minister of the Environment Province of Quebec

Mr. J. Robert Gauthier, M.P. Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister of State for Urban Affairs

Mr. J. Blair Seaborn Deputy Minister Department of Fisheries and the Environment, Ottawa

Mr. B. Barnes Deputy Minister of the Environment Province of New Brunswick

Mr. G. Mitchell Deputy Minister of the Environment Province of Saskatchevan

Mr. R. Bailey Assistant Deputy Minister of the Environment Province of Alberta

Mr. Cyril Downey Assistant Deputy Minister for Consumer Affairs and the Environment Province of Newfoundland

Mr. K. Sharpe Assistant Deputy Minister Department of the Environment Province of Ontario

•••/3

Mr. Geoffrey Simmons Assistant Deputy Minister of the Environment Province of British Columbia

Mr. J.P. Bruce Director General Inland Waters Department of Fisheries and the Environment Ottawa

Mr. M. Hendler Director General for Water Department of Natural Resources Province of Quebec

Mr. D. Jeans Director of the Environment Department of Consumer Affairs and the Environment Province of Newfoundland

Mr. Richard Belliveau Department of External Affairs Ottawa

Mr. J.R. Hickman Environment and Health Directorate Department of Health and Walfare Ottawa

Mr. K.V. Lathem President of the Canadian Water Resources Association Toronto

Dr. C.V. Mackay Director Lethbridge Research Station Agriculture Canada

Mr. Howard Smith Financial Institutions Branch Canadian International Development Agency Ottawa

Mr. C.V. Svoboda Department of External Affairs Ottawa

Professor Hugh R. Whiteley University of Guelph representing the Canadian Council for International Cooperation Mr. Stanley Vass Environmental Policy Advisor Province of Prince Edward Island

Accompanying the Delegation, as part of the official Canadian representation, will be the following senior officials and specialists in water resources and water management. 1<u>C</u>

N

Mr. Grant Mills Director, Water Resources Branch Department of the Environment Province of Ontario

Mr. Yves Pagé Department of the Environment Province of Quebec

Mr. Robert Player Central Mortgage and Housing Corporation Ottawa

Mr. Pierre Roy Department of Intergovernmental Affairs Province of Quebec

- 30 -