

PRESS RELEASE

INFORMATION DIVISION DEPARTMENT OF EXTERNAL AFFAIRS OTTAWA - CANADA

<u>ADVANCE RELEASE</u>

FOR RELEASE AT 7 P.M. EDT, SEPTEMBER 12, 1949.

It was announced in Ottawa, London. and Washington today that in the interest of continued uniform application of measures for security of the atomic energy information which they hold in common, representatives of the Atomic Energy Agencies of Canada, the United Kingdom, and the United States will hold their third declassification meeting September 26-28 at the Canadian Atomic Energy Research Establishment at Chalk River, Ontario, Canada.

The three nations now use uniform declassification guides in determining what information arising from their atomic energy research and developmental work may be published and what information is to be kept classified and restricted in circulation. These uniform guides were developed at the first declassification meeting of the representatives of the three Governments in November, 1947, at Washington, D.C., and were revised at a second meeting held at Harwell, England, in September, 1948.

At the forthcoming third meeting, the guides will be reviewed in the light of technical developments of the past 12 months. The purpose of the review is to assist in maintaining maximum security of the information held in common by the participating nations.

Representing the three nations at the declassification meeting will be:

Canada

<u>NO. 59</u>

Dr. W. B. Lewis, Director of the Division of Atomic Energy Research, Chalk River

Dr. W. H. Watson, Director, Physics Sub-Division

Dr. L. G. Cook, Head, Chemistry Branch, Atomic Energy Project, Chalk River, Secretary

Dr. B. W. Sargent, Head, Nuclear Physics Branch

Dr. Charles Walker, Declassification Officer, Secretary.

/....2

United Kingdom

- Dr. R. E. Peierls, Professor of Mathematics, University of Birmingham
- Dr. H. J. Emeleus, Professor of Chemistry, Cambridge University
- Dr. H. W. B. Skinner, Head, General Physics Division, Atomic Energy Research Establishment
- Dr. J. F. Jackson, Technical Administrative Office, Atomic Energy Research Establishment.

United States

- -

- Dr. W. G. Johnson, Chairman, Department of Chemistry, University of Chicago
- Dr. W. F. Libby, Professor of Chemistry, University of Chicago
- Dr. J. M. B. Kellogg, Leader, Physics Division, Los Alamos Scientific Laboratory
- Dr. R. L. Thornton, Professor of Physics, University of California
- Dr. F. De Hoffman, Los Alamos Scientific Laboratory and Secretary, Committee of Senior Responsible Reviewers
- Dr. J. Q. Beckerley, Chief, Declassification Branch
- Mr. C. L. Marshall, Deputy Chief, Declassification Branch
- Dr. H. A. Fidler, Area Manager, Berkeley Area, United States Atomic Energy Commission

Mr. Bennett Boskey, Deputy General Counsel, United States AEC.

•4