



CANADIAN DELEGATION TO 19TH UNESCO GENERAL CONFERENCE

DEPARTMENT OF EXTERNAL AFFAIRS MINISTÈRE DES AFFAIRES EXTÉRIEURES The Secretary of State for External Affairs, the Honourable Don Jamieson, announced today that Ambassador Yvon Beaulne, Canada's Permanent Delegate to UNESCO, will be the chairman of the Canadian Delegation to the 19th General Conference of the United Nations Organization for Education, Science and Culture (UNESCO), to be held in Nairobi, Kenya, from October 26 - November 30, 1976.

At this biennial General Conference, representatives of 137 countries will consider the two-year and five-year programme plans of UNESCO in education, the exact and natural sciences, social sciences, humanities, culture and communications.

Dr. L.H. Cragg, President of the Canadian Commission for UNESCO and former president of Mount Allison University, will serve as Vice-chairman of the Delegation.

The following will also be members of the Delegation:

Mr. Gérard Barbin Deputy Minister of Cultural Affairs Ouebec

Mr. Napoléon LeBlanc Director Continuing Education Services Laval University

Miss M.L. Bayer Assistant Deputy Minister Department of Tourism Province of Manitoba

Alternate delegates:

Dr. J.M. Harrison Former Assistant Director General of UNESCO

Mr. J.W. Langford Secretary of State Department Mr. David Bartlett Secretary General Canadian Commission for UNESCO

Mr. A.W.J. Robertson Department of External Affairs

Mr. G.A. Rau High Commissioner of Canada Nairobi, Kenya

Advisers:

Miss Nini Baird
Director of Public Programming
Centre for the Arts
Simon Fraser University

Mr. André Vinette Canadian International Development Agency

Mr. Howard Henderson Ministry of Education Ontario

Dr. F.B. Ogilvie
Department of Advanced Education and Manpower
Alberta

Mrs. Maria Raletich-Rajicic Canadian Permanent Delegation to UNESCO Paris

Mr. D.W. Campbell Canadian High Commission Nairobi, Kenya

Mr. H.G. Pardy Canadian High Commission Nairobi, Kenya