Panph 1908 00.99

THE
LONDON AND
MIDDLESEX
HISTORICAL
SOCIETY



THE LONDON and MIDDLESEX HISTORICAL SOCIETY

OFFICERS and MEMBERS FOR 1908-1909

Published by the Society

The London and Middlesex Historical Society

This Society was organized on the 22nd of October, 1901, in accordance with arrangements made at a preliminary meeting held at the Western University, London, on the 26th of June previous. Eight regular monthly meetings have been held every year since—the Society taking a recess during the summer. At every meeting historical papers and objects of historical interest have been presented; and the Society has gathered the nucleus

of a historical museum.

The following are among the papers of original research that have been presented: "The U. E. Loyalists," by Sir John Bourinot; "Early Explorations in Western Ontario," by Mr. J. H. Coyne; "The Founding of London," Dr. Cl. T. Campbell; "The 100th (Canadian) Regiment," Major Gorman; "The Battle of Longwoods," Mr. I. H. Poole; "Municipal Progress," Mr. G. R. Patullo; "Early Anglican Missions," Archdeacon Richardson; "The Making of Ontario," Mr. C. C. James; "The Talbot Settlement," Judge Hughes; "The Settlement of Hyde Park," "The Stevens Family," and "The Pioneer Militia," Mr. A. McQueen; "Aboriginal Characteristics," Mr. David Boyle; "The Names of London Streets," Miss Priddis; "The Extermination of the Neutrals," Mr. John Dearness; "Indian Tribes and Relics," Dr. Woolverton; "The First Bishop of Huron," Mr. V. Cronyn.

Papers of personal recollections of pioneer days in the county have been given by Sir John Carling, Judge Wm. Elliott, Judge Hughes, Hon. Freeman Talbot, Messrs. W. J. Imlach, Thos. Kent, Wm. Percival, Elliot Grieves, A. Sydere, J. Eckert, Mesdames Porte, Root, and many others; and very many papers on literary subjects of historical interest by a number of ladies and gentlemen.

In order to encourage school children in the study of local history, the society has offered prizes for the best essays on Township Histories, and lives of Pioneers. The following prizes for essays have been awarded:

"The Township of Biddulph," by W. W. Rivington.

"John Blair," by Alex. Blair Gray.
"Francis Nichol," by Mabel Nichol.
"Adam Telfer" by Reta Telfer.

Tablets have been erected at points of interest in the city—the site of the first house, and on the Russian Guns captured in the Crimean War.

The annual meeting of the Society is held on the 3rd of March—being the date of Governor Simcoe's visit to London.

First Officers of the Society

HON. PRESIDENT—SIR JOHN CARLING.
PRESIDENT—CL. T. CAMPBELL, M. D.
1st Vice President—Mr. Jas. Egan.
2nd Vice President—Mrs. E. N. English.
Cor. Secretary—W. M. English, M. D.
Recording Secretary—Mrs. Gahan.
Treasurer—Mr. Henry Macklin.
Curator—Dr. Woolverton.

EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE—REV. J. G. STUART, MESSRS. JOHN CAMERON, C. B. EDWARDS, JOHN DEARNESS, AND MISS PRIDDIS.



Officers for 1908 - 9

HON. PRESIDENT—SIR JOHN CARLING.
PRESIDENT—MR. HENRY MACKLIN.
PAST PRESIDENT—MR. F. LAWSON.
1ST VICE PRESIDENT—
2nd VICE PRESIDENT—MRS. BRICKENDEN.
SECRETARY—MISS FLORENCE A. MITCHELL.
ASST. SECRETARY—MISS AMY BARTRAM.
COR. SECRETARY—MR. C. B. EDWARDS.
TREASURER—MR. JOHN DEARNESS.
CURATOR—DR. WOOLVERTON.

AUDITORS-MESSRS. JOHN S. PEARCE AND A. W. FRASER.

EXECUTIVE—MISS MACKLIN, DR. CAMPBELL, MISS PRIDDIS, MISS CANNELL, MISS GAHAN, F. LAWSON.

Members of the Society

Alexander, N., M. D. Bartram, Mrs. W. H. Bartram, Miss Amy Beal, W. H., M. D. Beattie, Major, M. P. Becher, H. C. Beck, Hon. Adam Beck, Mrs. Adam. Blackburn, H. *Blackwell, R. J. Bland, R. R. Boomer, Mrs. Brickenden, Mrs. Burgess, Miss G. Burwell, Miss M. Butler, Jno. C. Butler, Mrs. Jno. C. Cadwallader, R. Callard, Mrs. J. Cameron, John Campbell, Cl. T., M. D. Campbell, Mrs. Cl. T. Campbell, Mrs. I. J. Cannell, Miss Carling, Sir Jno. Carling, Miss Coo, W. C. Collver, Mrs. Cronyn, V. Cronyn, Hume Davidson, W. McC. Dearness, Jno. Dearness, Mrs. Jno. Dynes, Miss Edwards, C. B. Egan, James *Elliott, Judge Wm. English, W. M., M. D. English, Mrs. W. M. English, Mrs. E. N. Essery, E. T. Evans, Miss Bessie Ferguson, Wm. H. Fitzallen, Mrs.

Fraser, A. W. Fraser, Mrs. A. W. Gahen, Mrs. M. J. Galpin, A. R. Gates, H. E. Gibson, L. Graham, C. M. R. Grant, Stephen Greenless, A. Gunn, Geo. C. Hammond, Fr Hazard, J. (Hastings, T. W. Hole, B. V. Hopkirk, Miss Hopkirk, Miss Laura Hutchison, T. V., M. D. Hyttenrauch, St. John Hyttenrauch, St. John Mrs. *Imlach, W. J. Jeffrey, A.O. Jewell, Mrs. G. F. Jones, Jno. W. Jones, H. J. Judd, J. C. Kelso, Miss King, Mrs. E. N. *Labatt, Mrs. Jno. Lawson, Frank Lawson, Mrs. F. Leonard, F. E. Leonard, Mrs. F. E. Liddicott, W. H. Lougheed, Miss Macbeth, Talbot (Judge) Macbeth, Mrs. Talbot *Macbeth, Jno. Mackintosh, J. W. Macklin, Henry Macklin, Miss Stella MacRobert, E. J. Magee, Mr. Justice Magee, Mrs. Marshall, Mrs. J. H.

Members of the Society

Mills, Miss Mills, Miss Martha *Minhinnick, J. R. Minhinnick, Mrs. J. R. Minhinnick, Miss G. Mitchell, B. A. Mitchell, Miss Florence Moorehouse, W. H., M. D. Mountjoy, C. E. Murphy, Thos. McCallum, Geo. A., M. D. McCann, B. C. McIntosh, J. W. McMeachan, J. H. McNeil, G., M. D. Nelles, J. A. *Orr, Thos. Paul, Edwin Pearce, J. Pinnell, L. Platt, Mrs. A. Priddis, Miss Ratcliffe, S. J. Richardson, Ven. Archdeacon Riggs, Jno. Robinson, Alf. Roome, W. F., M. D. Rowe, Thos. Saunders, W. E.

Scarrow, W. Screaton, A. Sears, H. G. *Shaw-Wood, R. Shaw-Wood, Miss Slater, J. Smith, Mrs. E. B. Southam, R. Stevely, Mayor. Stockwell, C. Strong, W. T. Stuart, Rev. J. G. Stuart, Alex., K. C. Tackaberry, W. Talbot, O. H. Tilley, Mrs. E. M. Tillman, A. Vining, Jared Weeks, G. N. Winnett, W. H. Woolverton, Dr. Wright, John Wright, Douglas Wrighton, J. W. Wyatt, W. Yates, Miss Zimmerman, Miss F.

* Deceased

