PRESS RELEASE



COMMUNIQUÉ

DEPARTMENT OF EXTERNAL AFFAIRS

MINISTÈRE DES AFFAIRES EXTÉRIEURES

62C51

The state of

· •

.

Ø)

0

VD.

 \mathbf{B}

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE WEDNESDAY, OCTOBER 24, 1962.

The Secretary of State for External Affairs, the Honourable Howard Green, announced today the composition of the Canadian Delegation to the twelfth session of the General Conference of the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (Unesco) which will take place at the Organization's Headquarters in Paris from November 9 to December 12, 1962.

The Chairman of the Delegation will be Mr. Marcel Faribault of Montreal, Member of the Canada Council and President of the General Trust of Canada. The Vice-Chairman will be Mr. S.F. Rae, Canadian Permanent Representative to the European Office of the United Nations, Geneva. Other members of the Delegation will be:

Professor W.A.C.H. Dobson, Head, Department of East Asiatic Studies, University of Toronto, Toronto, Ontario.

Dr. John K. Friesen, Director, Department of University Extension, University of British Columbia, Vancouver, B.C.

Mr. L.V.J. Roy, Canadian Permanent Delegate to Unesco, Paris, France.

Dr. W.H. Swift, Deputy Minister of Education, Edmonton, Alberta.

...2

NOTE: To facilitate distribution of information for the press by this Department, releases in future will be issued in two categories. Series "A" consisting primarily of announcements of appointments and visits to Ottawa, will be distributed only to information media in Ottawa. Series "B" containing information on international affairs of more general interest, will continue to be delivered to all recipients currently on the distribution list. \$

Professor Norma Walmsley, Department of Political Science, Brandon College, Brandon, Manitoba.

Professor Hugh J. Whalen, University of New Brunswick, Fredericton, N.B.

Dr. J. Tuzo Wilson, Professor of Geophysics, University of Toronto, Toronto, Ontario.

Mr. Lewis Perinbam, Secretary of the Canadian National Commission for Unesco, and Mr. G.H. Southam of the Department of External Affairs will be advisers.