

news release

^{Date} June 16, 1994

No. 124

For release

MINISTERS CONGRATULATE 1994 PAFSO AWARD WINNERS

Foreign Affairs Minister André Ouellet, Minister for International Trade Roy MacLaren, and Minister of Citizenship and Immigration Sergio Marchi, today congratulated the four winners of the 1994 Canadian Foreign Service Officer Awards.

The award winners are: Ian Burchett, Canada's Vice-Consul and Assistant Trade Commissioner in Monterry, Mexico, who received his award for promoting Canadian business in Northeastern Mexico; Claudette Deschênes, an employee in the International Service Group of Citizenship and Immigration Canada, for her exceptional services in supporting immigration managers abroad and in handling trying personnel issues; Denis Grégoire de Blois, for his extraordinary work over a four-year period in protecting human rights in Syria; and Carolyn McMaster, for her outstanding role in helping to develop and implement Canadian policy on South Africa.

The awards were presented at the National Arts Centre in Ottawa on Wednesday, June 15, by the Deputy Minister of Citizenship and Immigration, Peter Harder, and by Jake Warren, Daniel Jean and Michael Shenstone. Judges for this year's awards were Meriel V.M. Bradford, Marie-Claude Lortie, Timothy Reid, Terry Sheehan, and James Hutchings (Si) Taylor. The Canadian Foreign Service Officer Awards were instituted in 1990 by PAFSO (the Professional Association of Foreign Service Officers) to acknowledge exceptional achievements by career foreign service officers. The winners receive a cash prize of \$500.

- 30 -

For further information, media representatives may contact:

Media Relations Office Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade (613) 995-1874

or:

Judy Morrison Citizenship and Immigration Canada (613) 953-3226

or:

Debra Hulley Professional Association of Foreign Service Officers (613) 241-1391