

Minister for

Ministre du International Trade Commerce extérieur

## COMMUNIQUÉ

No. 127

JUNE 26, 1986

## MEMBERSHIP OF THE AUTOMOTIVE AND AEROSPACE SAGIT

The Minister for International Trade, the Honourable James Kelleher, today announced the membership (see attached) of the Sectoral Advisory Group on International Trade (SAGIT) that will deal with the automotive and aerospace industries.

As announced on April 25, 1986 this SAGIT will be chaired by Mr. Jack Ripley, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Allied-Signal Canada Inc. Mr. Ripley is a member of the Business Council on National Issues and a director of the Automotive Parts Manufacturers' Association (APMA). He served as Chairman of the APMA in 1979. Mr. Ripley is also a member of the Board of Directors of Fleck Manufacturing Company Limited and of ens Biological Inc. Allied-Signal Canada is an advanced technology company with its primary businesses in aerospace/electronics, automotive and advanced materials.

The automotive and aerospace industries advisory group will provide advice to the Minister for International Trade, and through him to the government, on market access and trade promotion issues of concern to these industries.

Canadä

.../2

Mr. Ripley will hold the first meeting of his advisory group in Ottawa, on July 24, 1986.

For further information, please contact:

Mr. Rod Bilodeau Deputy Adviser and Coordinator Trade Advisory Committee Secretariat (DMTA) Department of External Affairs Ottawa, Ontario (613) 995-7892

or

Mr. Denis Comeau Deputy Spokesman (International Trade) Department of External Affairs Ottawa, Ontario (613) 995-1874

- 30 -

## Sectoral Advisory Group on International Trade (SAGIT)

## Automotive and Aerospace Industries

Chairman: Mr. Jack Ripley Chairman and Chief Executive Officer Allied-Signal Canada Inc. Mississauga, Ontario

Members:

Mr. Dan Bethune President Dayco Canada Ltd. Weston, Ontario

Mr. William Boggs President De Havilland Canada Ltd. (Division of Boeing) Downsview, Ontario

Mr. Robert Calder President Produits Cellulaires Waterville St. Jérome, Québec

Mr. Gordon Campbell President Westank Industries Ltd. Regina, Saskatchewan

Mr. Jim Dykes Past President Motor Vehicle Manufacturers' Association Toronto, Ontario

Ms. Germaine Gibara Program Director of Aluminium Structured Vehicles Alcan International Montreal, Quebec

Mr. Ken Harrigan President and Chief Executive Officer Ford Motor Company Ltd. Canada Oakville, Ontario

...2

Mr. Brian James President Rubber Association of Canada Mississauga, Ontario

Mr. Harry W. Johnson President Tridon Limited (North American Division) Burlington, Ontario

Mr. Jim Kosiak President Western Star Trucks Inc. Kelowna, British Columbia

Mr. Clive Kingston President Dowty Canada Limited Ajax, Ontario

Ms. Merle Kriss Chairman of the Board Ontario Centre for Advanced Manufacturing Toronto, Ontario

Dr. John Macdonald Chairman of the Board Macdonald Dettwiller and Associates Richmond, British Columbia

Mr. Gérard Plourde, O.C Retired Chairman of the Board UAP, Inc. Montréal, Québec

Mr. Ken Rowe President IMP Group Limited Halifax, Nova Scotia

Mr. Claude St-Arnaud Executive Vice-President Canadian Marconi Company Montréal, Québec

Mr. Elvie Smith Chairman Pratt and Whitney Canada Inc. Longueuil, Québec