

DEPARTMENT OF EXTERNAL AFFAIRS MINISTÈRE DES AFFAIRES EXTÉRIEURES

communiqué

No:

27

DIFFUSION: RELEASE:

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE APRIL 6, 1977

APPOINTMENT TO THE
BOARD OF GOVERNORS OF THE
INTERNATIONAL DEVELOPMENT RESEARCH CENTRE

The Secretary of State for External Affairs, The Honourable Don Jamieson, today announced the appointment of Maurice F. Strong to the 21-member Board of Governors of the International Development Research Centre.

The IDRC is a public corporation, established by an Act of Canadian Parliament in 1970 to support research designed to adapt science and technology to the specific needs of developing countries. In accordance with the Act, Governors are appointed by the Government of Canada.

Eleven of the Governors, including the Chairman and Vice Chairman, must be Canadian citizens. It has become the practice to draw the other ten Governors from among people from other countries who have made notable contributions in the field of international development. Six of them are from developing countries.

Louis Rasminsky, the former Governor of the Bank of Canada, has been the Chairman of IDRC Board of Governors since March 1973. He succeeded the late Lester B. Pearson, who was the first Chairman.

- 30 -

Biographic details of the new Governor and the Board follow.

MAURICE F. STRONG

Maurice F. Strong is a renowned environmentalist, and one of Canada's leading specialists in international development. He was for three years Executive Director of the United Nations Environment Programme in Nairobi, Kenya before returning to Canada in 1976 to become Chairman of the Board of Petro-Canada.

Mr. Strong was Secretary-General, United Nations Conference on the Human Environment and Under-Secretary-General of the United Nations Office at Geneva from 1970-1972. During the period 1966-1970, he was the head of Canada's International Development Assistance Program, first as Director-General of the External Aid Office, and subsequently---as the role of the organization was expanded to become the Canadian International Development Agency---was CIDA's first President.

Mr. Strong holds numerous honourary degrees from universities in Canada, the United Kingdom, and the United States of America. His most recent academic affiliation was with the University of Edinburgh, Scotland, where he was Montague Burton Professor of International Relations in 1973.

In 1976 he was appointed an Officer of the Order of Canada by His Excellency Governor General Léger. Mr. Strong has received other national and international honours, including: the UNESCO First International Pahlavi Environment Prize (1976); the Freedom Festival Award (1975); the Mellon Award (1975); the National Audubon Society Award (1975); and the Tyler Ecology Award (1974).

Mr. Strong has been a member or trustee of many international boards and committees, among them the Dag Hammarskjold Foundation, the Rockefeller Foundation, the World Wildlife Fund, the World Council of Churches, and the World Alliance of YMCAs.

MEMBERS OF THE BOARD OF GOVERNORS OF THE I.D.R.C.

Members of the Board of Governors of the International Development Research Centre are:

- Mr. Louis Rasminsky (Canada), Economist, Banker, Chairman of the Board, International Development Research Centre, Ottawa.
- Dr. W.D. Hopper (Canada), Agricultural Economist, President, International Development Research Centre, Ottawa.
- Dr. Manuchehr Agah (Iran), Economist, Professor of Economics, Teheran University.
- Dr. Aklilu Habte (Ethiopia), Educator/Lecturer, Minister of Culture and Youth, Government of Ethiopia.
- Mr. Pierre Bauchet (France), Economist, Professor of Political Economy, University of Paris, Scientific Director of the National Centre for Scientific Research.
- Dr. John Milton Bell (Canada), Professor/Associate Dean (Research), College of Agriculture, University of Saskatchewan, Saskatoon.
- Mr. Roger A. Blais (Canada), Geologist, Engineer/Dean of Research, Ecole Polytechnique (School of Engineering), Montreal.
- Sir John Crawford (Australia), Economist/Former Vice-Chancellor, Australian National University. Senior Agricultural Advisor to the World Bank.
- Mr. Norman T. Currie (Canada), Chartered Accountant/President and Chairman of the Board of Corporate Foods Limited, Toronto.
- M. Paul Gérin-Lajoie (Canada), Lawyer, Educator/Former President, Canadian International Development Agency, Ottawa.

Mr. Peter C. Green (Canada),

Lawyer/Partner in the law firm of Kitz, Matheson, Green and MacIsaac, Halifax.

Dr. Ilunga Kabongo (Zaire),

Professor and Vice-Dean/Professor, National University of Zaire, Vice-Dean, Faculty of Political and Social Sciences.

Mr. Archie R. Micay (Canada),

Lawyer/Senior partner in the law firm of Walsh, Micay and Company, Winnipeg.

Mr. Stephen Milne (Canada),

Educator/Professor of Political Science, University of British Columbia, Vancouver.

The Honourable

Rex Nettleford, O.M., (Jamaica),

Educator/Professor of Extra Mural Studies, Advisor to the Prime Minister.

Professor T.W. Schultz (U.S.),

Professor of Economics, Distinguished Professor Emeritus of Economics, University of Chicago.

Dr. Soedjatmoko (Indonesia),

Advisor to the Chairman of the Planning Board.

Dr. Victor L. Urquidi (Mexico),

Economist/President of El Colegio de Mexico.

Sir Geoffrey Wilson (U.K.),

Public Administrator/Chairman, Race Relations Board.

Dr. William C. Winegard (Canada),

Educator/Former President and Vice-Chancellor, University of Guelph, Halton Hills, Ontario.