

DEPARTMENT OF EXTERNAL AFFAIRS MINISTÈRE DES AFFAIRES EXTÉRIEURES

communiqué

No.: 40

DIFFUSION: RELEASE:

DIFFUSION: FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

APRIL 17, 1978

APPOINTMENT OF CANADIAN MEMBERS TO THE PERMANENT COURT OF ARBITRATION

The Secretary of State for External Affairs, the Honourable Don Jamieson, announced today the appointment of the following persons as Canadian Members of the Permanent Court of Arbitration. (Set up under the Convention for the Pacific Settlement of International Disputes of 1899):

- The Honourable Mr. Justice Jean Beetz The Supreme Court of Canada Ottawa, Ontario
 - Professor Charles B. Bourne Faculty of Law University of British Columbia Vancouver, B. C.
- Mr. Allan E. Gotlieb Under-Secretary of State for External Affairs Ottawa, Ontario
 - 4. Mr. Douglas C. Hunt, Q. C. Halley, Hickman, Hunt and Adams St. John's, Newfoundland

Members of the Permanent Court of Arbitration hold office for six years and serve without honorarium. They represent the Bench, the academic community, the public service and the practising bar.

In addition to duties as arbitrators which they may be called on to perform, the Canadian Members also serve as the Canadian National Group for the International Court of Justice. The function of the Group is to submit nominations to the Secretary-General of the United Nations for the election of judges of the International Court of Justice. The elections

are conducted by the General Assembly and the Security Council with candidates obtaining an absolute majority of votes in both forums being declared elected. The next elections will be held in the fall of 1978 during the 33rd Session of the General Assembly. The International Court of Justice consists of fifteen members who serve for a period of nine years. The late Mr. Justice John E. Read, formerly legal adviser of the Department of External Affairs, served as a Member of the Court from 1946 to 1958.