CANADA'S OLDEST OFFICIAL STUDENT PUBLICATION

VOL. 95 No. 22

FREDERICTON, N.B., THURSDAY, JANUARY 31, 1963

The Voice of UNB

PRESIDENT ELECT SANDY LeBLANC

CANDIDATES' COMMENTS

Following the ballot-counting, Robert Kerr issued this statement to the Brunswickan:

"The result does not, I may say, come as a great surprise to me. I would be inexperienced in student affairs if I had not realize the odds against my election. I do hope that by running I prevented an election by acclamation and ensured that our President-elect was called upon to place his views before the students in a campaign. I want to congratulate Sandy and wish him every success in the office of President.

To my supporters, I want to say thank you. I am confident that they join with me in offering every support to the new executive and new council."

In a statement to the Brunswickan, Sandy LeBlanc said: "I must say that I am extremely pleased by the wonderful support given to me by the electors. To those who supported me, and to those who helped in my campaign, I extend my sincere LeBLANC

"To my opponent, I extend congratulations for a vigorous and cleanly fought campaign, which certainly stimulated interest in SRC affairs. I look forward to an interesting term of office, and hope that the new council will be a creative and stimulating one in which the students will take a keen interest. As President of the SRC, I maintain a sincere desire to carry out the wishes and desires of the student body, so that the Council will be truly representative. Once again, sincere thanks to every-

The candidates for Vice-President were not available for comment at press time.

LeBlanc Elected by 752

Breheria

With over fifty per-cent of the student body casting their ballots in Wednesday's election, Sandy LeBlanc overwhelmed Robert Kerr with 987 votes to Kerr's 235 to become the new S.R.C. President. In a much tighter race, Richard (Pooch) Clark defeated Dan Mersich 610 to 558 in the contest for First Vice-President.

In the A.A.A. elections, Brian Ross gained a margin of 176 votes over Russ Irvine to gain the Presidency. The votes were Ross—642; Irvine 466. The Second Vice-Presidency went to Louis Savoie with 627 votes over Campbell Tidman with 462.

In the political elections, the Liberals won with 441 votes to give them 21 seats in the legislature. The Progressive Conservatives came second with 393 votes, and 19 seats, and the Christian Atheists were third with 246 votes and 12 seats. With no party having anything like a clear majority, Model Parliament should be interesting this year.

A total of 78 out of the approximately two hundred post-graduate students at UNB voted in the special poll to see if they wanted to be represented on the S.R.C. and pay the additional fees this would require. Of those voting, the split was very even, with 38 in favour of representation and 40 against. The law school had a 75% turn out at the polls, 60% of these, 21 out of 35, were in favour of electing a representative to the S.R.C. As a result of this, it is quite probable that it will be recommended to next year's council that the Law School be enfranchised and represented, while the rest of the Post Grads continue as before.



1st VICE-PRESIDENT ELECT RICHARD CLARK

MON?

S.R.C. EXECUTIVE:

President—Sandy LeBlanc
First Vice President—Richard Clark
Second Vice President—Louise Morrow
Treasurer—Michael Douglas Secretary-Peggy Blair

REPRESENTATIVES:

Joyce Bradley Brian Copeland Peter Gill Barbara Taylor

Intermediate: Gordon Betts David Christie Preston Thom

Junior: Gary Davis Janet Hepburn David Tilson

Sophomore: Laird Brown Brian Malone John Sherrick

CHAIRMAN OF NFCUS:

Ian McQueen

CHAIRMAN OF WUSC:

Carole Gooden

A.A.A. EXECUTIVE:

President—Brian Ross Vice President—Gail Godden Second Vice President—Louis Savoie Secretary—Elizabeth-Ann Pearce

CLASS EXECUTIVES:

President—Ross Webster Vice President—Brian Copeland Secretary-Treasurer—Bruce Budd

Intermediate:

President—Ralph Flanagan Vice President—John Morrison Secretary Treasurer-Thomas Lord

President-Woody Fitch Vice President—Chris Robb Secretary Treasurer—Michael Stuart

Sophomore:

President-Thor Eaton Vice President-Beth Waters

SENIOR CLASS LIFE EXECUTIVE

President-Dave Wilson Vice President—Dave Inch Valedictorian—Tom Calkin Secretary Treasurer—Wendy Tidmarsh