Commerce extérieur Canada

Communiqué

Secretary of State for External Affairs



Secrétaire d'État aux Affaires extérieures

News Release

May 14, 1990.

Br. May replaces Dr. E.B

CLARK ANNOUNCES CANADA TO HOST NATO SCIENCE COMMITTEE MEETING

The Secretary of State for External Affairs, the Right Honourable Joe Clark, today announced that Canada will host this year's annual meeting of the NATO Science Committee in Vancouver from May 15-18. The Minister for Science, the Honourable William Winegard, will represent Mr. Clark as guest of honour and will deliver the keynote address.

"NATO is much more than a military organization. It is deeply involved in encouraging a wide variety of links between the member countries and participating in steps to strengthen democracy and economic prosperity," stated Mr. Clark. "This meeting is an important step in our on-going efforts to encourage scientific development in all the countries of the Alliance."

The NATO Science Committee was established in 1958 following a recommendation made by Canada together with Italy and Norway to develop NATO's non-military cooperation. The Committee oversees international scientific cooperation and exchanges between member states in a wide variety of disciplines. The overall goal is to encourage interaction between peoples, investigate challenges facing modern societies and develop the scientific potential of member countries.

Most fields of science are eligible for support under several exchange programs including: Science Fellowships; Collaborative Research Grants; Advanced Study Institutes; and Advanced Research Workshops. In addition, a number of "Special Programs" give support for projects that need short-term concentrated effort. These programs are coordinated by the NATO Scientific Affairs Division, based at NATO headquarters in Brussels, which is advised by panels of scientists drawn from member countries, including Canada.

The Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada administers the NATO Fellowship Program in Canada. In 1989, 14 new grants and 29 renewed fellowships were awarded to Canadians. In addition, Canada receives 50-60 scientists per year from other member countries to do research in Canadian institutes.

Mr. Clark also announced the appointment of Dr. A.W. May, President of NSERC, as Canada's representative on the NATO Science Committee. Dr. May replaces Dr. R.E. Bell who has been the representative since 1984.

- 30 -

For further information, media representatives should contact: Media Relations Office External Affairs and International Trade Canada (613) 995-1874