

CANADA

No. 5

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE FEBRUARY 17, 1975

IDRC BOARD OF GOVERNORS

DEPARTMENT OF EXTERNAL AFFAIRS MINISTÈRE DES AFFAIRES EXTÉRIEURES The Secretary of State for External Affairs, the Honourable Allan J. MacEachen, today announced the appointment of two new Governors and renewal of the appointments of three members of the twenty-one-member Board of Governors of the International Development Research Centre.

The two new Governors are Victor L. Urquidi of Mexico and Manuchehr Agah of Iran, both economists. Those appointed for a second term are Pierre Bauchet of France, Louis Berlinguet of Canada, and Sir John Crawford of Australia. Governors are appointed for a four-year term on a rotating basis to ensure a measure of continuity.

The IDRC is a public corporation, established by an Act of the Canadian Parliament in 1970 to support research designed to adapt science and technology to the specific needs of developing countries.

In accordance with the Act, Governors are appointed by the Government of Canada. Eleven of the Governors, including the Chairman and Vice-Chairman, must be Canadian citizens. It has become practice to draw the other ten Governors from among people from other countries who have made notable contributions in the field of international development. Six of them are from developing countries.

Louis Rasminsky, the former Governor of the Bank of Canada, has been Chairman since March 1973. He succeeded the late Lester B. Pearson, who was the first Chairman. W. David Hopper, a noted agricultural economist, has been President of the IDRC since 1979.

The Governors of this autonomous corporation meet twice yearly to formulate policies of the Centre and to approve projects. The next meeting will be held March 15-18 in Singapore. In nearly five years of operation, the IDRC Board has approved 242 projects involving grants totalling \$46,500,000, in 63 countries.

- 30 -

Some biographical details of the new Governors follow.

Members of the Board of Governors are: Louis Rasminsky,
Chairman, W. David Hopper, President and Chief Executive Officer.
Roger A. Blais (Quebec), Norman T. Currie (Toronto), Paul
Gérin-Lajoie (President of the Canadian International
Development Agency, Ottawa), Peter Green (Halifax),
Archie R. Micay (Winnipeg), R. Stephen Milne (Vancouver),
Dr. William C. Winegard (Guelph), Aklilu Habte (Ethiopia),
Ilunga Kabongo (Zaira), Rex Nettleford (Jamaica), T.W.
Schultz (United States), Dr. Soedjatmoko (Indonesia),
and Sir Geoffrey Wilson (Great Britain).

Completing their terms in October 1974 were:

C.F. Bentley (Edmonton), Louis Berlinguet (Québec),

Pierre Bauchet (France), Roberto Campos (Brazil),

A.L. Dias (India), and Sir John Crawford (Australia).

Pierre Bauchet is a renowned economist and one of France's leading specialists in economic and regional planning. A professor of Political Economy at the University of Paris, he is also scientific director at the National Centre for Scientific Research. From 1956 to 1962 he was a professor in the faculties of Law and Economic Science at Rabat and Lille Universities and, from 1962 to 1966, he was director of studies at the National Administrative School. Professor Bauchet has been a member of the Board of Governors of the IDRC since 1970.

Sir John Crawford, an Australian economist and specialist in international affairs, has been his country's representative on several international organizations, such as FAO, where he was a founding delegate, and GATT. Former Vice-Chancellor of the Australian National University, he also was director of that university's Research School of Pacific Studies from 1960 to 1967. He was Permanent Secretary to the Australian Department of Commerce and Agriculture and the Department of Trade from 1950 to 1960. He has been a member of the IDRC Board of Governors since 1970.

A native of Quebec City, Louis Berlinguet is a biochemist and educator. He is Vice-Chairman for Research at the University of Quebec, and President of the National Institute for Scientific Research in Quebec. He has been a member of the France-Quebec subcommittee on scientific and technological research since 1970, the committee on grants and scholarships of the National Research Council, and the governing body of the Institute of Microbiology and Hygiene since 1972, and the Association of Universities and Colleges of Canada since 1973. Mr. Berlinguet is the author of numerous works on the biochemistry of proteins and cancer. He has been a member of the IDRC Board of Governors since 1970.

Victor L. Urquidi, born in 1919, is a Mexican economist. A graduate of the London School of Economics, he has had a long career, occupying several posts in financial and banking institutions in Mexico and in the United Nations, as well as in the World Bank. He has taught at the National University of Mexico, as well as at El Colegio de Mexico, where he has been President since 1966. The author of numerous articles and essays in various economic, demographic and other journals, he is co-author of The Economic Development of Mexico, a study published jointly by the Mexican government and the World Bank in 1953. He is also the author of Free trade and Economic Integration in Latin America and The Challenge of Development in Latin America, published in 1962 and 1964, respectively. A member of the executive committee of the Club of Rome since 1972, Mr. Urquidi is also a member of the United Nations Advisory Committee on the Application of Science and Technology to Development.

Manuchehr Agah, 44, is a professor of Economics at Tehran University. Born in Rafsanjan, Iran, he obtained his doctorate in Economics at Oxford University, after having received a master's degree in Economics and Political Science at Cambridge University. Since 1964, he has been a member of several United Nations committees of experts and, between 1965 and 1968, was with the International Monetary Fund. Mr. Agah was President of the Society for International Development in Tehran from 1970 to 1972. In 1973-74, Mr. Agah was Deputy Minister of Finance for the Department of Economic Affairs and Finance of Iran.