

DEPARTMENT OF EXTERNAL AFFAIRS MINISTÈRE DES AFFAIRES EXTÉRIEURES

communiqué

No:

029

February 9, 1987.

CANADA-FRENCH COMMUNITY OF BELGIUM PRIZE AWARDED TO WRITER EUGÈNE SAVITZKAYA

The Department of External Affairs and the Canada Council announced that the Belgian writer Eugène Savitzkaya has been awarded the 1985 Canada-French Community of Belgium Prize. The prize, worth \$2,500, is awarded in alternate years to a Canadian or a Belgian francophone writer. The jury's decision is based on an assessment of the author's overall contribution to literature rather than on an individual work.

The prize is administered by the Canada Council and Canadian financing is through the Cultural Affairs Division, Arts Promotion, of the Department of External Affairs.

The winners are selected by a jury appointed by the Ministry of the French Community of Belgium and by the Canada Council. This year, the Canadian jury was composed of Marie-Claire Blais, Victor-Lévy Beaulieu, Jacques Brault and François Charron, under the chairmanship of Naïm Kattan.

Eugène Savitzkaya was born in 1955 at Saint-Nicolas-lez-Liège of a Russian mother and a Polish father. His literary career started early; while still in high school, he published two works and participated actively in a Liège literary group called L'Atelier de l'Agneau. Since 1977, he has published novels and collections of poems in which his slavic background is revealed through his particular narrative style.

Among his literary works are Mentir (1977), La traversée de l'Afrique (1979), Les couleurs de boucherie (1980) and La disparition de maman (1982).

.../2



Previous Belgian winners of the Prize are Geo Norge (the first, in 1971), Suzanne Lilar (1973), Pierre Mertens (1975), Marcel Moreau (1977), Hubert Juin (1979), Jacques-Gérard Linze (1981) and Claire Lejeune (1983). The Prize was awarded to Canadian writers Gaston Miron (1972), Réjean Ducharme (1974), Marie-Claire Blais (1976), Jacques Godbout (1978), Victor-Lévy Beaulieu (1980), François Charron (1982) and Jacques Poulin (1984).

Information:

James de Gaspé Bonar Cultural Affairs Arts Promotion Division External Affairs (613) 992-6464

or

Naïm Kattan, Head Writing and Publications Service Canada Council (613) 598-4332