

DEPARTMENT OF EXTERNAL AFFAIRS MINISTÈRE DES AFFAIRES EXTÉRIEURES

communiqué

No:

53

April 23, 1985.

APPOINTMENT OF CANADIAN MEMBER TO THE PERMANENT COURT OF ARBITRATION

The Right Honourable Joe Clark, Secretary of State for External Affairs, announced today the appointment of Professor Edward McWhinney, Q.C., Simon Fraser University, Burnaby, B.C. as a Canadian Member of the Permanent Court of Arbitration. (Set up under the Convention for the Pacific Settlement of International Disputes of 1899).

Professor McWhinney replaces Professor Ronald St. John Macdonald, Q.C., Dalhousie University, Halifax, N.S., who resigned effective January 1, 1985. Professor McWhinney will complete the term of Professor St. John Macdonald that expires on June 29, 1990. The other 3 Canadian members of the Permanent Court of Arbitration are: Mme. Justice Bertha Wilson, Mr. Leonard H. Legault, Q.C. and Mr. Yves Fortier, Q.C.

Members of the Permanent Court of Arbitration hold office for six years and serve without honorarium. They are drawn from four constituencies of the Canadian legal community: the Bench, the academic community, the public service and the practising bar.

...2



In addition to duties as arbitrators which they may be called on to perform, the Canadian Members also serve as the Canadian National Group under the Statute of the International Court of Justice. The function of the Group is to submit nominations to the Secretary-General of the United Nations for the elections of judges of the International Court of Justice. The elections are conducted by the General Assembly and the Security Council with candidates obtaining an absolute majority of votes in both forums being declared elected. The next election will be held in the fall of 1987. The International Court of Justice consists of fifteen members who serve for a term of nine years. The late Mr. Justice John E. Read, formerly legal adviser of the Department of External Affairs, served as a member of the Court from 1946 to 1958.