

## DEPARTMENT OF EXTERNAL AFFAIRS MINISTÈRE DES AFFAIRES EXTÉRIEURES

## communiqué

Nº: No.:

124

September 12, 1985.

SECRETARY OF STATE FOR EXTERNAL AFFAIRS

TO LEAD THE CANADIAN DELEGATION TO THE

40TH SESSION OF THE UNITED NATIONS GENERAL ASSEMBLY

The Secretary of State for External Affairs, the Right Honourable Joe Clark, announced today the composition of the Canadian Delegation to the 40th regular session of the United Nations General Assembly. Mr. Clark addresses the Assembly on Wednesday, September 25. The principal members of the delegation are listed overleaf.

The Right Honourable Joe Clark, M.P., P.C. Secretary of State for External Affairs (Chairman of the Delegation)

The Honourable Monique Vézina, M.P., P.C. Minister of State for External Relations

The Honourable Andrée Champagne, M.P., P.C. Minister of State, Youth

Mr. Stephen Lewis
Ambassador and Permanent Representative of Canada to the
United Nations
New York
(Vice-Chairman of the Delegation)

Mr. Douglas Roche Ambassador for Disarmament

Mr. Léo Duguay Member of Parliament Winnipeg - St. Boniface

Mr. François Gérin Member of Parliament Mégantic - Compton - Stanstead

Mrs. Shirley Martin Member of Parliament Lincoln

Mr. J.H. Taylor Undersecretary of State for External Affairs Department of External Affairs

Mr. Leonard Legault Legal Advisor Department of External Affairs

Mr. A.W. Sullivan Assistant Deputy Minister Political and International Security Affairs Department of External Affairs

Ms. Maureen O'Neil Co-ordinator Status of Women Canada

Mr. David Lee
Deputy Permanent Representative of
Canada to the United Nations
New York

Ms. Julie Loranger Director General Multilateral Affairs Department of External Affairs

## SPECIAL OBSERVERS

Professor Ivan Bernier Faculty of Law Laval University Quebec City, Quebec

Professor Marshall Conley Department of Political Science Acadia University Woolfville, Nova Scotia

Mrs. Maria-Elena Déry Linguist Ottawa, Ontario

Ms. Ann Gertler Project Ploughshares Montreal, Quebec

Mr. John Holmes Canadian Institute of International Affairs Toronto, Ontario

Mr. Firdaus Kharas Executive Director U.N. Association in Canada Ottawa, Ontario

Ms. Joanna Miller U.N. Association in Canada Saskatoon, Saskatchewan

Ms. Joyce Nevitt President Newfoundland and Labrador Association on Ageing St. John's, Newfoundland

Professor Gil Rémillard Faculty of Law Laval University Quebec City, Quebec

Dr. Amy Zelmer Academic Vice President University of Alberta Edmonton, Alberta