

news release

Date

December 30, 1988.

No. 260

For release

APPOINTMENT OF CANADIANS FOR CANADA-U.S. DISPUTE SETTLEMENT

PANELS ANNOUNCED

International Trade Minister John C. Crosbie and Finance Minister Michael H. Wilson today announced the appointment of a roster of Canadians to serve as panelists for the binational dispute settlement mechanisms established under Chapter 19 of the Free Trade Agreement. This chapter provides for binding binational panel dispute settlement in anti-dumping and countervail duty cases.

The two Ministers also announced the appointment of a roster of five retired judges from which members will be selected to serve on extraordinary challenge committees established under the Canada-U.S. Free Trade Agreement.

The two rosters are attached.

For more information, contact: Media Relations Office The Department of External Affairs (613) 995-1874

Canada

- 30 -



ROSTER FOR CHAPTER 19 DISPUTE SETTLEMENT PANELS

Albert L. Bissonnette Penny S. Bonner Donald J. M. Brown Jean Gabriel Castel James Chalker Peter Clark John M. Coyne Glen A. Cranker Ivan Feltham C. J. Michael Flavell Martin Freedman D. M. M. Mike Goldie Rodney Grey Gerald Lacoste A. de Lotbinière-Panet David McFadden James McIlroy Robert Pitt Simon Potter Margaret Prentiss John Richard Pierre Sauvé E. David Tavender Christopher Thomas Gilbert Winham

ROSTER FOR EXTRAORDINARY CHALLENGE COMMITTEES

Arthur Gordon Cooper

Jules Deschênes

Willard Zebedee Estey

Gregory Thomas Evans

Nathaniel Theodore Nemetz

Same and some

and the second states in the

and the second second second second second

•

and the second second

and the second second

035500002