# News Release

Minister for

International

Trade



## Communiqué

Ministre du Commerce extérieur

No. 076

April 6, 1989.

### CANADA AND THE U.S. ANNOUNCE FTA AUTO PANEL

International Trade Minister, John C. Crosbie, announced today that in accordance with the Free Trade Agreement, Canada and the U.S. have jointly established a private sector panel of informed persons to advise the two governments on automotive issues. The Minister also released the names of the 15 Canadian members of the 30-member select panel, and was especially pleased that Mr. Darcy McKeough would be its Canadian Co-Chairman.

The panel's mandate, as set out in Article 1004 of the Free Trade Agreement, is to assess the state of the North American automotive industry and to propose public policy measures and private initiatives to improve its competitiveness in domestic and foreign markets. The panel has been asked to complete its work and submit its final report by June 30, 1991.

Canadian members of the panel represent a broad spectrum of interests in the automotive sector, including vehicle manufacturers, labour, parts producers, consumers and dealers. Both federal governments will have observer status.

Mr. Crosbie said that he looked forward to balanced and farsighted advice from the panel given the vital importance of the automotive industry to the economies of both countries. He added that he hoped the panel would concentrate on confronting the realities of a rapidly evolving worldwide industry and would make comprehensive recommendations on improving its international competitiveness.

- 30 -

Canadä

For further information:

Abbie Dann Media Relations Office Department of External Affairs (613) 995-1874

#### CANADIAN MEMBERS OF THE AUTOMOTIVE SELECT PANEL

Mr. Darcy McKeough Redpath Industries Limited Toronto, Ontario

Mr. Roy F. Bennett Bennecon Ltd. Toronto, Ontario

Mr. Kenneth Harrigan Ford Motor Company of Canada Ltd. Oakville, Ontario

Mr. Maurice Joseph Closs Chrysler Canada Ltd. Windsor, Ontario

Mrs. V. Maureen Kempston Darkes General Motors of Canada Ltd. Oshawa, Ontario

Monsieur André Normand Prevost Car Inc. Ste-Claire (Québec)

Mr. Susumu Yanagisawa Toyota Canada Inc. Scarborough, Ontario

Mr. Yoo Il Lee Hyundai Auto Canada Inc. Markham, Ontario

Mr. Peter J. Dawes Canadian Importers Association Inc. Toronto, Ontario

Mr. Robert T. Beamish The Woodbridge Group Mississauga, Ontario

Mr. Paul Calvi Waterville TG Inc. Waterville, Quebec

### CANADIAN MEMBERS OF THE AUTOMOTIVE SELECT PANEL

.

-

. •

· • • •

. .

.

· · .

٠.

•\_\_\_\_\_\_

1

•

Mr. Jim McAlpine Magna International Inc. Markham, Ontario

Mr. Robert White CAW Canada Willowdale, Ontario

Mrs. Sally A. Hall Edmonton, Alberta

Mr. Kenneth R. Graydon Federation of Automobile Dealer Associations of Canada Willowdale, Ontario