November 24, 1994

No. 235

OUELLET ANNOUNCES APPOINTMENTS TO THE IDRC BOARD OF GOVERNORS

Foreign Affairs Minister André Ouellet today announced four new appointments to the Board of Governors of the International Development Research Centre (IDRC). The appointees are: José Joaquin Brunner, the Minister of the President's Office in Chile; Jon Grant, consultant and former President and Chief Executive Officer of the Quaker Oats Company; Miguel Hurtado de la Madrid, a former President of Mexico (1982-88); and Dr. Ivy F. Matsepe-Casaburri, Chairperson of the South African Broadcasting Corporation (SABC).

Mr. Ouellet also announced the reappointment of two other governors, Dr. Joan E. Foley, a professor of Psychology at the University of Toronto and Dr. Vulimiri Ramalingaswami, a medical pathologist and Professor Emeritus at the All India Institute of Medical Sciences.

IDRC is a public corporation created by the Parliament of Canada in 1970 to help developing countries find their own solutions to development problems through research.

The Centre is directed by a 21-member Board of Governors who are appointed for four-year terms. The Board is international, consisting of 11 Canadian members and 10 non-Canadian members. Members of the Board are selected based on their experience in the field of international development and their interest in the developing regions of the world.

30 -

Biographical information is attached.

For further information, media representatives may contact:

Diane Hardy, Media Relations Officer The International Development Research Centre (613) 236-6163 extension 2570

Media Relations Office Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade $(613) \cdot 995 - 1874$

BIOGRAPHICAL INFORMATION

José Joaquin Brunner is the Minister of the President's Office in Chile. He was Director of the Latin American Faculty of Social Sciences (FLACSO) in Chile from 1981 to 1988 and worked extensively to maintain a high level of visibility and performance for the social sciences in Latin America. He has been a visiting professor at many Latin American universities and a consultant for UNESCO and for international organizations concerned with scientific research. In 1988, he was a visiting researcher in Canada. He is the author of several books, including Investing in Knowledge: Strengthening the Foundation for Research in Latin America.

Dr. Joan E. Foley is currently a Professor of Psychology at the University of Toronto and has held various positions there, including Vice-President and Provost (1985-93). Since 1975, she has been a Professor of Psychology and Chairperson of the Department of Psychology (1985). Her other positions include Scientific Officer at the Defence Research Medical Laboratories and Principal of Scarborough College. She was Director of the Donwood Institute from 1973-88 and served as its Chairperson from 1986-88.

Jon Grant is a consultant and former President and Chief Executive Officer of the Quaker Oats Company. He is Chairman of the Ontario Round Table on the Environment and the Economy and is regarded as being one of the most environmentally conscious of Canadian businessmen. He holds directorships with the Consumers' Gas Company Ltd., Scott Paper Ltd., the Laurentian Bank of Canada and Laurentian General Insurance. He is an Honorary Governor of Trent University and has also been honoured with the Corporate Humanist Award of the Canadian Federation of the Humanities.

Miguel Hurtado de la Madrid was the President of Mexico from 1982-88 and has been Director of the Fondo de Cultura Economica since 1990. An economist and lawyer, he was Minister of National Planning and Budget in the Government of Mexico from 1979-81 and Under-Secretary in the Ministry of the Treasury from 1975-79. Since leaving public office, he has been active in environmental issues. He is currently President of the High Level Committee for the UN's International Decade for the Reduction of Natural Disasters.

Dr. Ivy F. Matsepe-Casaburri is Chairperson of the South African Broadcasting Corporation (SABC). She was Executive Director of the Education Development Trust in Johannesburg and now serves as an Executive Trustee for Research and Fundraising. She is also President of the African Women for Research and Development (AAWORD) in Dakar, Senegal. Dr. Matsepe-Casaburri is Convener of the Research Supervisory Group of the Women's National Coalition in South Africa and she was part of the IDRC-sponsored Science and Technology Mission to South Africa. She has extensive experience in the area of gender issues regarding education, economic planning, local government policy and empowerment.

Dr. Vulimiri Ramalingaswami, Professor Emeritus at the All India Institute of Medical Sciences, is an Oxford-educated medical pathologist with extensive experience as a medical researcher and educator. He is the former Director of both the All India Institute of Medical Sciences and the Indian Council of Medical Research and has served as Chairperson of the International Task Force on Health Research for Development in Geneva (1990-93). He was Secretary-General of the International Conference on Nutrition in Rome in 1992, which was held under the auspices of the World Health Organization and the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations.