

## CANADA

No. 70

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE AUGUST 25, 1975



APPOINTMENT TO IDRC BOARD OF GOVERNORS

**DEPARTMENT OF EXTERNAL AFFAIRS** MINISTÈRE DES AFFAIRES EXTÉRIEURES The Secretary of State for External Affairs, the Honourable Allan J. MacEachen, today announced the appointment of John Milton Bell of Saskatoon to the 21-member Board of Governors of the International Development Research Centre.

The new Governor is Associate Dean (Research) of the College of Agriculture at the University of Saskatchewan. Born in Islay, Alberta in 1922, Mr. Bell holds a doctorate in animal husbandry from Cornell University and has been on the staff of the University of Saskatchewan for 27 years. An Officer of the Order of Canada since 1972 and Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada since 1974, he is Chairman of the Canada Committee on Animal Nutrition and of the joint U.S. National Academy of Sciences and National Research Council of Canada's Subcommittee on Laboratory Animal Nutrition, as well as of the Research Committee, Rapeseed Association of Canada.

The International Development Research Centre is a public corporation established by Act of the Canadian Parliament in 1970 to support research designed to adapt science and technology to the specific needs of developing countries.

In accordance with the Act, Governors are appointed by the Parliament of Canada for a four-year term on a rotating basis to ensure a measure of continuity.

Eleven of the Governors, including the Chairman and the Vice-Chairman, must be Canadian citizens. It has become practice to draw the other ten Governors from among people in other countries who have made notable contributions in the field of international development. Six of them are from developing countries.

The Governors of this autonomous corporation meet twice-yearly to formulate policies of the Centre and to approve projects. The next meeting of the Board of Governors will be held September 26-27 in Ottawa. During the Centre's five years of operation, the IDRC Board has approved support for 274 projects involving grants totalling \$51.9 million.

- 30 -

- A list of the members of the IDRC Board of Governors follows.

Louis Rasminsky, Chairman,

Louis Berlinguet, Vice-Chairman (Quebec),

W. David Hopper, President and Chief Executive Officer,

Manucher Agah (Iran),

Aklilu Habte (Ethiopia),

Pierre Bauchet (France),

Roger A. Blais (Montreal),

Sir John Crawford (Australia),

Norman T. Currie (Toronto),

Paul Gérin-Lajoie (President of the Canadian International Development Agency, Ottawa),

Peter G. Green (Halifax),

Ilunga Kabongo (Zaire),

Archie R. Micay (Winnipeg),

· R. Stephen Milne (Vancouver),

Rex M. Nettleford (Jamaica),

T. W. Schultz (Chicago),

Dr. Soedjatmoko (Indonesia),

Victor L. Urquidi (Mexico),

Sir Geoffrey Wilson (England),

William C. Winegard (Guelph),

J. Milton Bell (Saskatoon).