

No. 73

For Immediate Release August 29, 1975

EXTERNAL AFFAIRS AFFAIRES EXTERIEURES OTTAWA SEP 10 1975 LIBRARY / BIBLIOTHÈQUE REFERENCE

CANADIAN DELEGATION TO THE 7th Special Session of the United Nations General Assembly

DEPARTMENT OF EXTERNAL AFFAIRS MINISTÈRE DES AFFAIRES EXTÉRIEURES The Secretary of State for External Affairs, the Honorable Allan J. MacEachen, announced today the composition of the Canadian Delegation to the 7th Special Session of the United Nations General Assembly, which will convene at United Nations Headquarters, New York, on Monday, September 1. Mr. Allan J. MacEachen will be the chairman of the Delegation. The other members will be:

Dr. Saul F. Rae

Mr. Herb Breau

Mr. D.D. Tansley

Miss P.A. McDougall

Mr. G.F. Bruce

Mr. A.L. Halliday

Mr. R.J. Martin

of Canada to the United Nations, New York

Ambassador and Permanent Representative

Member of Parliament, Parliamentary Secretary to the Secretary of State for External Affairs

Senior Vice-President, Multilateral Programs Branch Canadian International Development Agency

Director General Bureau of Economic and Scientific Affairs Department of External Affairs

Deputy Permanent Representative and Minister to the United Nations, New York

Acting General Director Office of General Relations Department of Industry, Trade and Commerce

Acting Director International Programmes Division Department of Finance

Some members of the Standing Committee for External Affairs and National Defence will participate in the 7th Special Session as Parliamentary Observers. These Members of Parliament are:

Mr. Hugh Anderson, M.P. for Comox-Alberni

Mr. Andrew Brewin, M.P. for Greenwood

Mr. Lloyd Francis, M.P. for Ottawa-West

Mr. David MacDonald, M.P. for Egnont

Mr. Irénée Pelletier, M.P. for Sherbrooke

Mr. Douglas Roche, M.P. for Edmonton-Strathcona

Advisors will be provided by the Department of External Affairs and by other Departments as required.

-2-

- 30 -