

DEPARTMENT OF EXTERNAL AFFAIRS MINISTÈRE DES AFFAIRES EXTÉRIEURES

communiqué

No:: 34

DIFFUSION: RELEASE: For Immediate Release April 9, 1981

CANADIAN MUNICIPAL AND LABOUR LEADERS TO VISIT MAJOR EUROPEAN ORGANIZATIONS

The Department of External Affairs is pleased to announce that a group of twelve municipal leaders from communities in the Yukon and each of the ten provinces, and five labour leaders will leave Ottawa April 10 for a sevenday study tour in Europe. The visit is sponsored by the Department of External Affairs, the NATO Information Service, and the Department of National Defence.

During their tour abroad, the group will visit the Organization for Economic Development and cooperation (OECD) and the International Energy Association (IEA) in Paris, the North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO) and the Canadian Mission to the European Community in Brussels, and the Supreme Headquarters Allied Powers in Europe (SHAPE), near Mons.

This visit, which is part of a continuing programme, will give these leaders an opportunity to familiarize themselves with some aspects of Canada's foreign policy and international commitments and to pass on their knowledge to a wider Canadian audience. In previous years, groups of parliamentarians, high school teachers and journalists from Canadian weeklies have taken part in similar study tours. This is the first time that labour leaders have been included in the programme.

The delegates, who were named by their municipal associations and unions, will first travel to Ottawa for advance briefings by government officials before setting off for Paris and Brussels. Those participating in this visit are:

- -- Mayor Dennis Flynn of Etobicoke, President of the Federation of Canadian Municipalities;
- -- Mayor J. E. Ogilvie of Kimberley, President of the Union of British Columbia Municipalities;
- -- Alderman C. A. Knight of Fort McMurray, President of the Alberta Urban Municipalities Association;
- -- Mayor H. E. Taylor of Moose Jaw, delegate of the Saskatchewan Urban Municipalities Association;
- -- Mayor J. Howard Gilmour of Pinawa, President of the Manitoba Association of Urban Municipalities;
- -- Mayor Robert Rutherford of Owen Sound, President of the Association of Municipalities of Ontario;
- -- Mayor Jacques O'Bready of Sherbrooke, President of the Union of Municipalities of Quebec;
- -- Alderman Forbes Elliot of Saint John, First Vice-President of the Cities of New Brunswick Association;
- -- Mayor Robert J. Munroe of Stellarton, President of the Union of Nova Scotia Municipalities;
- -- Mayor Frank McAulay of Parkdale, delegate of the Federation of Prince Edward Island Municipalities;
- -- Deputy Mayor Aubrey Smith of Windsor, President of the Newfoundland and Labrador Federation of Municipalities;
- -- Alderman Jon Pierce of Whitehorse, President of the Association of Yukon Communities;
- -- Michel Doré, Union Education Officer, Confédération des Syndicats Nationaux, Montreal;
- -- Robert Robichaud, Research Director of the Canadian Conference of Teamsters;
- -- Gérard Docquier, National Director of the United Steel Workers of America;
- -- Charles Phillips, President of the International Association of Machinists; and
- -- William E. Brassington, Executive Secretary of the Public Service Alliance of Canada.

- 30 -