

DEPARTMENT OF EXTERNAL AFFAIRS MINISTÈRE DES AFFAIRES EXTÉRIEURES

communiqué

N°: 115

AUGUST 15, 1984

CANADIAN INSTITUTE FOR INTERNATIONAL PEACE AND SECURITY

The Honourable Jean Chretien, Deputy Prime Minister and Secretary of State for External Affairs, announced the proclamation of the Act establishing the Canadian Institute for International Peace and Security effective today.

The creation of this Institute, which was achieved through a consensus of all parties in Parliament, is an important step for Canada. It is Canada's way of injecting fresh ideas and developing new and better solutions for a world troubled by contlict and uncertainty.

The Institute, which is to be independent of government, will seek to increase knowledge and understanding of the issues relating to international peace and security from a Canadian perspective, with particular emphasis on arms control, disarmament, defence and conflict resolution. It will foster, fund and conduct research on matters relating to peace and security. It will promote scholarship in this field and will study and propose ideas and policies for the enhancement of international peace and security. It will also collect and disseminate information on issues of international peace and security and encourage public discussion.

Fourteen distinguished Canadians have agreed to serve on the Board of Directors of the Institute. They are:

Dr. Norman Z. Alcock, President, World Federalists of Canada;

Mr. William H. Barton, former Canadian Ambassador to the United Nations;

...2





- Dr. George Bell, President, Canadian Institute for Strategic Studies, former General, Canadian Armed Forces;
- Dr. W. Harriet Critchley, Director, the Arctic Institute of North America, University of Calgary;
- Mr. Paul Desmarais, Chairman of Power Corporation;
- Mr. Gwynne Dyer, International affairs journalist and military historian;
- Mr. William Epstein, former Director of the United Nations
 Disarmament Division;
- Dr. Maryaret Fulton, President of Mount St. Vincent University, Halifax;
- Dr. Albert Legault, Professor of Political Science,
 Laval University;
- Ms. Joanna Miller, Project Ploughshares, Saskatchewan, former President, UNICEF Canada;
- Mr. Dennis McDermott, President, Canadian Labour Congress;
- Dr. John H. Sigler, Professor of Political Science, Carleton University;
- Dr. Lois Wilson, former Moderator of the United Church of Canada:
- Mr. Gerald Wright, Vice-President, Canadian Donner Foundation.

The initial meeting of the Board is tentatively scheduled to be held in Ottawa in mid-September. Once the Canadian Board members have elected a Chairman and Executive Director, non-Canadian directors will be appointed.

The permanent location in Canada of the Institute will be decided later.