

DEPARTMENT OF EXTERNAL AFFAIRS MINISTÈRE DES AFFAIRES EXTÉRIEURES

communiqué

No: 90

DIFFUSION: FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE OCTOBER 17, 1978.

ADVISORY COMMITTEE ON ACADEMIC RELATIONS

The Department of External Affairs announces the establishment of an Advisory Committee on Academic Relations. Membership in the informal committee will be rotational and it will meet at least twice a year. It will be chaired by a senior official of the Department of External Affairs and its initial members will be:

Professor René de Chantal, Vice Rector, University of Montreal;

Professor Brian Evans, Department of History, University of Alberta;

Professor Louis-Edmond Hamelin, Department of Geography, Laval University;

Professor John Meisel, Hardy Professor of Political Science, Queen's University;

Professor Pierre Savard, Director, French Canadian Civilization Research Centre, University of Ottawa;

Professor Denis Stairs, Department of Political Science, Dalhousie University;

Professor Thomas Symons, Chairman, Commission on Canadian Studies.

The Council of Ministers of Education, Canada will be represented on the committee.

Members of the Advisory Committee on Academic Relations will serve for no longer than three years.



The committee was created in response to a need for a more direct channel through which the Department could obtain, on a systematic basis, advice to ensure that its programme of academic exchanges is relevant in light of rapidly changing circumstances. The creation of such a body was recommended to the Department in the Report of the Commission on Canadian Studies.

For many years the Department of External Affairs has enjoyed mutually rewarding links with the Canadian academic community, particularly with academics interested in issues of Canadian foreign policy and the fostering of direct ties with academic communities. These links have taken various forms including the secondment of personnel, participation in seminars on foreign policy themes, sitting on juries for academic exchange programmes and the selection of professors for special assignments such as in the area of Canadian studies at universities abroad.

The committee held its first meeting on September 13, 1978.