News Release

Communiqué

Department of External Affairs



Ministère des Affaires extérieures

No. 188

August 10, 1989.

EXTENSION OF CANADA-AUSTRALIA CONSULAR

SHARING AGREEMENT

The Secretary of State for External Affairs, the Right Honourable Joe Clark, and the Australian Minister for Foreign Affairs and Trade, Senator Gareth Evans, today concluded an arrangement extending the application of the Canada-Australia Consular Sharing Agreement to twenty new locations, ten for Canada and ten for Australia.

This Agreement, which was concluded on August 7, 1986, authorizes each country to provide certain consular services to nationals of the other at selected locations where one has consular representation but the other does not.

Under the Agreement, Canada currently assists Australian nationals in Lima (Peru), Oslo (Norway) and Tunis (Tunisia), while Australia assists Canadian nationals in Honolulu (U.S.A.), and Denpasar (Indonesia).

Services provided include assistance in case of arrest or detention, financial assistance or repatriation, assistance in case of illness or hospitalization, issuance of emergency travel documents, assistance in connection with lost or stolen property, assistance with funeral arrangements, and registration of nationals.

.../2

Secretary of State for External Affairs Secrétaire d'État aux Affaires extérieures



At the time the Agreement was concluded, provision was made to extend its application to other locations by mutual agreement. As a result of today's arrangement, Australia will provide consular services to Canadians at ten additional locations in Asia and the South Pacific, and Canada will reciprocate at ten new locations in Africa.

Australia will offer assistance at Apia (Western Samoa), Bandar Seri Begawan (Brunei), Honiara (Solomon Islands), Nauru, Nuku Alofa (Tonga), Port Louis (Mauritius), Port Moresby (Papua New Guinea), Port Vila (Vanuatu), Yangon (Myanmar) (formerly Rangoon, Burma) and Tarawa (Kiribati), while Canada will do the same at Abidjan (Côte d'Ivoire), Accra (Ghana), Addis Ababa (Ethiopia), Conakry (Guinea), Dar es Salaam (Tanzania), Dakar (Senegal), Kinshasa (Zaire), Libreville (Gabon), Rabat (Morocco) and Yaoundé (Cameroon).

This extension of the Consular Sharing Agreement is a reflection of the special relationship which has developed between the consular services of Canada and Australia over the years and which is of considerable benefit to citizens of both countries.

- 30 -

For further information, please contact:

Robert Peck Media Relations Office External Affairs and International Trade Canada (613) 995-1874