Communiqué

Secretary of State for External Affairs



Secrétaire d'État aux Affaires extérieures

No. 205

News Release

September 17, 1990.

\$227,000 GRANT GIVEN TO CANADIAN AND U.S. STUDIES FOUNDATION

The Secretary of State for External Affairs, the Right Honourable Joe Clark, today announced a grant of \$227,000 (\$200,000 US) to the Canada-U.S. Educational Exchange Foundation. The Foundation is a private, non-profit organization which administers an exchange program for teaching and research on Canadian and U.S. studies as well as on Canada-U.S. bilateral relations.

"This contribution, combined with a matching grant by the U.S. Government and private sector funding, will give new impetus to academic exchanges between our two countries," stated the Minister.

The Foundation was established subsequent to an Agreement signed in February 1990 by Mr. Clark and James Baker, the U.S. Secretary of State. It is also part of the Fulbright Educational Exchanges, a U.S. Government academic program involving 130 countries.

Dr Patti McGill Peterson, President of St. Lawrence University in Canton, New York, will Chair the Board of Directors and Dr. Victor Konrad, President of the Association of Canadian Studies in the United States, will be the Foundation's first Executive (Details on Board members are attached.)

The Foundation will begin operating during the 1991-92 academic year.

-30-

For more information, media representatives may contact:

Media Relations Office External Affairs and International Trade Canada (613) 995-1874

Background - Board of Directors:

The U.S. Board members are: Chair, Dr. Patti McGill Peterson, President of St. Lawrence University in Canton, N.Y.; Dr. John Brademas, President of New York University; Richard Christian, Associate Dean of the J.L. Kellogg School of Management, Northwestern University; Michael Miles, Chairman, Kraft General Foods; Richard Munro, Chairman and C.E.O. Time Inc. and the Honorable Paul H. Robinson, Jr., former U.S. Ambassador to Canada.

Canadian Board members are: George Cooper, Barrister, Halifax (Secretary to the Board); Philippe de Gaspé Beaubien, Chairman of the Board and C.E.O. of Gasbeau Inc.; Dr. Marsha Hanen, President University of Winnipeg; Nancy Jackman, social activist and philanthropist from Toronto; and Sydney Jackson, Vice Chairman, Manufacturers Life (Treasurer). Sixth member to be announced.

An Advisory Committee to the Board is comprised of non-voting members: His Excellency Derek Burney, Canadian Ambassador to the U.S.; His Excellency Edward N. Ney, American Ambassador to Canada; Michael Phillips, Assistant Deputy Minister, U.S. Relations for the Department of External Affairs and International Trade and Mr. Dell Pendergrast, Minister, Counselor for Public Affairs of the American Embassy in Ottawa.

Executive Director - Dr. Victor Konrad:

The first Executive Director of the Foundation, Dr. Victor Konrad is the former Director of the Canadian-American Center, University of Maine and current President of the Association for Canadian Studies in the U.S. (ACSUS). Dr. Konrad, who has a PhD. in Geography, has devoted 15 years to Canadian Studies in the U.S. as a program administrator and as a scholar. He has published over 30 articles and papers on the Canada/U.S. borderland relationship and other topics.