

COM I u é

No. 120

For Immediate Release December 8, 1975

EXTERNAL AFFAIRS

--- 1075

LIBRARY / BIBLIOTHEQUE

CANADA-BELGIUM CULTURAL AGREEMENT

MIXED COMMISSION

DEPARTMENT OF EXTERNAL AFFAIRS MINISTÈRE DES AFFAIRES EXTÉRIEURES The Mixed Commission provided for under the terms of the Cultural Agreement concluded between Canada and Belgium in July, 1967, is holding its first session in Quebec City from the 8th to the 10th of December, 1975.

The Belgian side of the Commission is led by His Excellency Mr. Charles Kerremans, Belgian Ambassador to Canada, and the Canadian side by Mr. André Bissonnette, Assistant Under-Secretary of State for External Affairs for Canada.

At its first session this morning, the Mixed Commission created a Belgo-Quebec Sub-Commission. The resolution creating the Sub-Commission was transmitted officially to the Quebec authorities who appointed Mr. Arthur Tremblay, Deputy Minister of Intergovernmental Affairs for the Province of Quebec, as Quebec Chairman of the Sub-Commission. In this capacity, Mr. Tremblay is an *ex officio* member of the Mixed Commission, as provided for in the terms of the resolution creating the Sub-Commission.

Ontario, New Brunswick and Manitoba are represented respectively by: Mrs. Patricia Sharp, Director, External Activities Secretariat, Office of Intergovernmental Affairs, Ministry of Treasury, Economics and Intergovernmental Affairs; Mr. Normand Martin, Deputy Minister, Department of Youth; and Mrs. Marie Jubinville, Deputy-Director, Secretariat for Federal-Provincial Cultural Relations, Ministry of Tourism, Recreation and Cultural Affairs.

Representatives of Canadian ministries and other agencies are also taking part in the work of the Commission.

A complete list of the members of the Canadian section is attached.

- 30 -

CULTURAL AGREEMENT BETWEEN CANADA AND BELGIUM -- MIXED COMMISSION

CANADIAN SECTION

Mr. André Bissonnette Assistant Under-Secretary of State for External Affairs and Chairman of the Canadian Section Ottawa

Mr. Arthur Tremblay Deputy Minister of Intergovernmental Affairs and Quebec Co-Chairman of the Belgo-Quebec Sub-Commission

Mr. Normand Martin Deputy Minister Department of Youth Fredericton

Mr. Jacques Dupuis Director General Bureau of Co-ordination Department of External Affairs Ottawa

Mr. Jacques Asselin Director of Cultural Affairs Division Department of External Affairs Ottawa

Mr. Jacques Montpetit Counsellor Canadian Embassy Brussels

Mr. Bernard Poirier Director of Official Languages Council of Ministers Secretariat Fredericton

Mr. John Saunders Director Department of Youth Fredericton

Mrs. Patricia Sharp Director, External Activities Secretariat Office of Intergovernmental Affairs Ministry of Treasury, Economic and Intergovernmental Affairs Toronto

Mr. S. Goban Assistant Director, International Programmes Association of Universities and Colleges of Canada Ottawa Mrs. Marie Jubinville Deputy-Director Secretariat for Federal-Provincial Cultural Relations Ministry of Tourism, Recreation and Cultural Affairs Winnipeg

Mr. David Anido Co-ordinator, Special Projects, Tours Office Canada Council Ottawa

Mr. Serge Marcoux Cultural Affairs Division Department of External Affairs Ottawa

Miss Huguette Chartrand Sports Advisor, Sports Canada Department of National Health and Welfare Ottawa

Mr. John Fieldhouse Federal-Provincial Co-ordination Division Department of External Affairs Ottawa

Mrs. G. Larose Awards Officer Association of Universities and Colleges of Canada Ottawa

Mr. Roy Schatz Department of Education Toronto.