News Release

April 24, 1995

No. 76

CANADIAN AND MEXICAN MINISTERS TO GATHER IN OTTAWA FOR 11TH JOINT MINISTERIAL COMMITTEE MEETING

Foreign Minister André Ouellet today announced that eight ministers from Mexico will join their Canadian counterparts in Ottawa on April 26 and 27 for the 11th meeting of the Canada-Mexico Joint Ministerial Committee (JMC). The JMC meetings began in 1971 and have been held annually since 1990, alternating between the two countries.

Mr. Ouellet noted that the annual ministerial meetings are becoming increasingly important to both countries, providing opportunities for regular, in-depth contact between ministers across a broad spectrum of mutual interests.

"The wide range of interests shared by our countries is reflected in the Canadian and Mexican delegations attending this meeting," said Mr. Ouellet. "Canada and Mexico have developed close and strong relations in the area of trade and economic co-operation. We are now strengthening our ties in legal co-operation, transport, agriculture, the environment and natural resources. This is a strong indication of the extent to which the relationship has grown."

In addition to sectoral issues, ministers are expected to discuss political and economic co-operation in the hemisphere, including the follow-up on the Summit of the Americas, NAFTA accession, and disarmament and non-proliferation.

- 30 -

A list of the Canadian and Mexican delegations is attached.

For further information, media representatives may contact:

Media Relations Office Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade (613) 995-1874

Canada-Mexico Joint Ministerial Committee

Canadian delegation:

André Ouellet, Minister of Foreign Affairs

Herb Gray, Leader of the Government in the House of Commons and Solicitor General of Canada

Lloyd Axworthy, Minister of Human Resources Development and Minister of Western Economic Diversification

Roy MacLaren, Minister for International Trade

Ralph Goodale, Minister of Agriculture and Agri-Food

Doug Young, Minister of Transport

Anne McLellan, Minister of Natural Resources

Lucienne Robillard, Minister of Labour

Christine Stewart, Secretary of State (Latin America and Africa)

Mexican delegation:

José Ángel Gurría Treviño, Minister of Foreign Relations

Ignacio Pichardo Pagaza, Minister of Energy

Herminio <u>Blanco</u> Mendoza, Minister of Commerce and Industrial Relations

Francisco <u>Labastida</u> Ochoa, Minister of Agriculture, Livestock and Rural Development

Carlos Ruiz Sacristán, Minister of Communications and Transport

Santiago Oñate Laborde, Minister of Labour and Social Welfare

Antonio Lozano Gracia, Solicitor General

Genaro Borrego Estrada, Director of Social Security Institute