

DEPARTMENT OF EXTERNAL AFFAIRS MINISTÈRE DES AFFAIRES EXTÉRIEURES

communiqué

Nº: No.: 90

DIFFUSION: FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
JUNE 3, 1982

CANADIAN DELEGATION TO THE SECOND

UNITED NATIONS SPECIAL SESSION ON DISARMAMENT

The Secretary of State for External Affairs, the Honourable Mark MacGuigan, announced today the names of the members of the Canadian Delegation to the second United Nations Special Session on Disarmament, which begins on June 7 in New York. The delegation will include the following:

Representatives

Dr. Mark MacGuigan, Secretary of State for External Affairs.

Honourable Gérard Pelletier, P.C., Ambassador and Permanent Representative of Canada to the United Nations at New York.

Mr. Arthur Menzies, Ambassador for Disarmament.

Mr. Marcel Prud'homme, Chairman, House of Commons Standing Committee on External Affairs and National Defence.

Parliamentary Observers

Mrs. Ursula Appolloni

Mr. André Bachand

Senator Hon. Florence B. Bird

Mr. David Collenette

Mr. Howard Crosby

Hon. Walter Dinsdale, P.C.

Mr. Benno Friesen

Mr. Girve Fretz

Mr. Pierre Gamaiel

Dr. Stanley Hudecki

Dr. Pauline Jewett

Mr. Fred King

Hon. Bryce Mackasey, P.C.

Hon. Allan McKinnon, P.C.

Mr. Paul McRae

Senator Hon. Robert Muir

Rev. Robert Ogle

Mr. Terry Sargeant

Mr. Robert Wenman

Consultants

Dr. Norman Z. Alcock

Mr. Jacques Champagne,
Director General,
Canadian Catholic Organization for
 Development and Peace.

Dr. W. Harriet Critchley, Director, Northern Political Studies Programme, University of Calgary.

Mr. William Epstein, Chairman, Canadian Pugwash Group. Mrs. Ann Gertler, Voice of Women.

Mr. John W. Holmes, Canadian Institute of International Affairs.

Mr. Roger Hill,
Parliamentary Centre for Foreign Affairs
and Foreign Trade.

Dr. Hanna Newcombe, President, World Federalists of Canada.

Professor Paul Painchaud, Laval University.

Mr. Robert Reford, Canadian Study Group on Arms Control and Disarmament.

Mr. Douglas Roche, International Chairman, Parliamentarians for World Order.

Dr. Donald Ross, Chairman, B.C. Coalition for World Disarmament.

Mr. Murray Thomson, Education Secretary, Project Ploughshares.

Mr. Gregory Wirick, Executive Director, United Nations Association in Canada.

Mr. Bernard Wood,
Director, North-South Institute.

The delegation will be assisted by a number of advisers from the Departments of External Affairs and National Defence, as well as from the Canadian Permanent Missions to the United Nations at New York and Geneva.