

DEPARTMENT OF EXTERNAL AFFAIRS MINISTÈRE DES AFFAIRES EXTÉRIEURES

communiqué

No.: 49

DIFFUSION: FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE RELEASE: MARCH 30, 1982

1981 CANADA-BELGIUM LITERARY AWARD TO BELGIUM WRITER JACQUES-GÉRARD LINZE

The Department of External Affairs announced today that the Belgian writer Jacques-Gérard Linze has been awarded the Canada-Belgium literary prize for 1981. The annual \$2,500 prize is awarded in alternate years to French language writers in Canada and Belgium. The jury's decision is based on an author's overall contribution to literature rather than for an individual work. The prize is financed, on the Canadian side, by the Cultural Affairs Division: Arts Promotion of the Department of External Affairs and administered by the Canada Council.

Laureates are selected by a jury appointed by the Belgian Ministry for the French Community and by the Canada Council. The Canadian jury this year was composed of Marie-Claire Blais, Louise Maheux-Forcier, Victor-Lévy Beaulieu and Jacques Brault under the chairmanship of Naïm Kattan.

Born in Liège in 1925, Jacques-Gérard Linze pursues an active career as novelist, poet and essayist.

Influenced by the avant garde novel but not belonging to a particular school of thought, Mr. Linze has been responsible for an abundant and varied literaty output. His works include Passé midi, Cinq poèmes pour la mort, La conquête de Prague (1965), Le fruit de cendre (1966), L'étang-coeur (1967), and L'affabulation. He was awarded the Polack Prize in 1960 for Confidentiel and Malpertuis Prize in 1969 for Mieux connaître.

Mr. Linze will receive his prize on April 21, 1982, during the Salon du livre de Québec, which will take place at the Centre municipal des Congrès in Québec City.

Previous Belgian prize winners are Geo Norge, who received the inaugural award in 1971. Suzanne Lilar (1973), Pierre Mertens (1975), Marcel Moreau (1977) and Hubert Juin (1979); the prize has been awarded to Canadian writers Gaston Miron (1972), Réjean Ducharme (1974), Marie-Claire Blais (1976), Jacques Godbout (1978), and Victor-Lévy Beaulieu (1980).