

DEPARTMENT OF EXTERNAL AFFAIRS MINISTÈRE DES AFFAIRES EXTÉRIEURES

communiqué

Nº: No.:

160

September 19, 1986.

CANADIAN DELEGATION TO THE 41ST SESSION OF THE UNITED NATIONS GENERAL ASSEMBLY

The Secretary of State for External Affairs, the Right Honourable Joe Clark, announced today that he will lead the Canadian Delegation to the 41st regular session of the United Nations General Assembly. A list of the principal members of the Delegation is attached.

Minister Clark will address the Assembly on Wednesday, September 24.

- 30 -



Chairman of the Delegation, ex officio

The Right Honourable Joe Clark, P.C., M.P. Secretary of State for External Affairs

Co-Chairman of the Delegation, ex officio

The Honourable Monique Landry, P.C., M.P. Minister for External Relations

Mr. Stephen Lewis Ambassador and Permanent Representative of Canada to the United Nations (Chairman of the Delegation)

Mr. Douglas Roche Ambassador for Disarmament

The Honourable Walter F. McLean, P.C. Member of Parliament Waterloo

Mr. Reg Stackhouse Member of Parliament Scarborough West

Mr. William Attewell Member of Parliament Don Valley East

Mr. J. Alan Beesley Ambassador and Permanent Representative of Canada to the Office of the United Nations at Geneva

Mr. Alan W. Sullivan Assistant Deputy Minister Political and International Security Affairs Department of External Affairs

Mr. Paul Laberge Deputy Permanent Representative of Canada to the United Nations

Ms. Julie Loranger Director General International Organizations Bureau Department of External Affairs

Mr. John Hadwen Director General Department of External Affairs

Mr. B.M. Mawhinney Director General Legal Affairs Bureau Department of External Affairs Dr. Lindsay Niemann Special Adviser International Women's Programmes Department of External Affairs

Dr. Philippe Kirsch Director Legal Operations Division Department of External Affairs

Dr. Marshal Wm. Conley Department of Political Science Acadia University

Mr. Gérard Gagnon President Confédération des organismes provinciaux de promotion des personnes handicapées du Québec

Professor John G.H. Halstead Georgetown University Washington, D.C.

Professor John W. Holmes Counsellor Canadian Institute of International Affairs

Mrs. Judith Maxwell Chairman Economic Council of Canada

Professor Don McRae Faculty of Law University of British Columbia

Professor France Morrisette Department of Civil Law University of Ottawa

Mr. Robert Reford President United Nations Association of Canada

Mr. Ernie Regher Research Coordinator Project Ploughshares

Sister Anne Robichaud Professor of Gerontology University of Moncton

Professor Sharon Williams Osgoode Hall Law School York University