

No. 42

For immediate release April 29, 1976

CANADIAN DELEGATION TO HABITAT ANNOUNCED

DEPARTMENT OF EXTERNAL AFFAIRS MINISTÈRE DES AFFAIRES EXTÉRIEURES The Secretary of State for External Affairs, the Honourable Allan J. MacEachen, announced today the composition of the Canadian Delegation to HABITAT, the United Nations Conference on Human Settlements. HABITAT will be held in Vancouver from May 31 to June 11. The Canadian HABITAT Delegation has 70 members, including the following elected officials: five federal ministers, ten provincial ministers, three federal Members of Parliament and nine Mayors.

The balance of the delegation will consist of federal, provincial and municipal advisers and representatives of Canadian non-governmental organizations.

The Secretary of State for External Affairs, Allan J. MacEachen, and the Minister of State for Urban Affairs, Barney Danson, will be co-chairmen of the delegation. Justice Minister Ron Basford will be first vice-chairman.

Dr. Victor Goldbloom, Quebec Minister of Municipal Affairs and of the Environment, will be second vice-chairman. Dr. Goldbloom made the original proposal on behalf of Canada at the 1972 Stockholm Conference on the Environment to host a U.N. settlements conference.

Environment Minister Jean Marchand and Communications Minister Jeanne Sauvé will complete the federal Cabinet contingent on the delegation.

. . . 2

The Canadian HABITAT Delegation will meet for the first time for briefings and discussions on Canada's approach to the Conference on April 29-30 at Ottawa.

The accredited Representatives on the delegation are:

Co-Chairmen

The Hon. Allan J. MacEachen Secretary of State for External Affairs

The Hon. Barney Danson Minister of State for Urban Affairs

First Vice-Chairman

The Hon. Ronald Basford Minister of Justice and Attorney General of Canada

Second Vice-Chairman

The Hon. Victor Goldbloom Quebec Minister of Municipal Affairs and of the Environment

Other Representatives

The Hon. Jean Marchand Minister of the Environment

The Hon. Hugh Curtis British Columbia Minister of Municipal Affairs

James W. MacNeill Canadian Commissioner-General for HABITAT

The Alternate Representatives on the delegation are:

The Hon. Jeanne Sauvé Minister of Communications

Monique Bégin, M.P. Parliamentary Secretary to the Secretary of State for External Affairs Jean-Robert Gauthier, M.P. Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister of State for Urban Affairs

The Hon. George Kerr Ontario Minister of the Environment

The Hon. Fernand Dubé New Brunswick Minister of Tourism and Environment

The Hon. Howard Pawley Manitoba Minister of Municipal Affairs and Attorney General

The Hon. George Proud Prince Edward Island Minister Responsible for Housing

The Hon. Gordon MacMurchy Saskatchewan Minister of Municipal Affairs

The Hon. Neil Byers Saskatchewan Minister of Environment

The Hon. William J. Yurko Alberta Minister of Housing and Public Works

The Hon. Brian A. Peckford Newfoundland Minister of Municipal Affairs and Housing

The Hon. Sidney L. Buckwold Senator and Chairman, Canadian National Committee for HABITAT

Mayor Jane Bigelow London

André Bissonnette Assistant Under-Secretary, Department of External Affairs

William Teron

President, Central Mortgage and Housing Corporation and Acting Secretary, Ministry of State for Urban Affairs

Dr. H. Keenleyside Associate Commissioner-General for HABITAT

. . 4

Director General, Bureau of United Nations Affairs Department of External Affairs

Geoffrey Grenville-Wood

Chairman, Canadian NGO Participation Group, and Executive Director, United Nations Association of Canada

The following eight Mayors have agreed to serve in an

advisory capacity on the delegation:

Mayor Gilles Lamontagne of Quebec City Président de l'Union des Municipalités du Québec

Mayor Jean-Marie Moreau of Verchères Président de l'Union des Conseils de Comté du Québec

Mayor Gary Wheeler City of Moncton, N.B.

Mayor Don Munro City of Glace Bay, N.S.

Deputy Mayor Bernie Wolfe City of Winnipeg, Manitoba

Mayor Muni Evers City of New Westminster, B.C.

Mayor Roy McGregor City of Red Deer, Alberta

Mayor Herb Taylor City of Moose Jaw, Sask.

Parliamentary observers will be:

Art Lee, M.P. for Vancouver East Liberal Party

John Gilbert, M.P. for Broadview New Democratic Party

William Clarke, M.P. for Vancouver Quadra Progressive Conservative Party

. . 5

In addition to the chairmen of the Canadian National Committee and the Canadian NGO Participation Group, the following representatives from the non-governmental community will join the delegation in an advisory capacity:

> Alex Dedan National Indian Brotherhood

Gloria George Native Council of Canada

Julien Major Executive Vice-President, Canadian Labour Congress

Keith Morley President, Costain Estates Limited

Charles Munro President, Canadian Federation of Agriculture

Laurette Strasbourg Regroupement des Comités des Citoyens de Hull

The remaining members of the delegation are advisers from the federal and provincial governments. The Secretary-General of the delegation will be Robert Munro, International Affairs Coordinator for the Canadian HABITAT Secretariat.

-

- 30 -