

LIRPARY DEPT OF EXTERINAL AFFAIRS MINISTERE DES AFFAIRES EXTERIORES

APPOINTMENT OF GOVERNORS FOR THE BOARD OF GOVERNORS TO THE IDRC

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

JUNE 14, 1973

No. 60

CANADA

The Secretary of State for External Affairs, the Honourable Mitchell Sharp, today announced the appointment of six Governors -- three Canadian and three non-Canadian -- to the 21-member Board of Governors of the International Development Research Centre.

The six new Governors are Norman T. Currie, of Toronto; Dr. Clarence L. Gosse, of Halifax; Aklilu Habte, of Ethiopia; Archie R. Micay, of Winnipeg; Theodore W. Schultz, of the United States; and His Excellency Soedjatmoko, of Indonesia.

The Centre was created by Act of the Canadian Parliament in 1970 to support research designed to adapt science and technology to the specific needs of the developing regions of the world as determined by them. The Act established the Centre as a public corporation, and provided that its Board of Governors would be appointed by the Canadian Government. It also provided that the Chairman, Vice-Chairman and nine other Governors must be Canadian citizens.

On the Centre's first Board (1970-72) the other 10 Governors were drawn from other countries, including six from developing countries. This practice has been continued through the new appointments.

Governors are appointed for a four-year term, but on the first Board six Governors were appointed for only two years, and another six Governors for three years, to ensure a measure of continuity. It is to replace the first six Governors who retired under this rotation system last October that today's appointments were made.

In March the Secretary of State announced the appointment of Louis Rasminsky, the former Governor of the Bank of Canada, as Chairman of the IDRC Board of Governors to succeed the late Lester B. Pearson who held the post of Chairman until his death last December.

The Governors of this autonomous corporation meet twice yearly to set the priorities of the Centre and to approve projects. In the first 2½ years of operation the IDRC Board approved support for 99 projects involving grants totalling \$13.4 million.

-

Some biographical details of the six Governors follow.

- 30 -

## **BIOGRAPHICAL NOTES**

Norman Currie, 45, is President and Chairman of Corporate Foods Limited (formerly Canada Bread Limited). Since 1967 he has been Chairman of the Canada Mysore Project, supporting an international food technology training centre in Asia. He is also Chariman of the Project Committee of the Canada Plus One Project, through which the Canadian food industry has provided mobile training laboratories for food industry training programs in developing countries.

Dr. Clarence Gosse, 60, is President of the Medical Association of Nova Scotia and for the past 18 months has been Chairman of the Nova Scotia Council of Health. For 20 years he was Professor of Urology at Dalhousie University and has been a specialist in Urology and Surgery at the Royal College of Surgeons of Canada. He is a member of the Board of Governors of Dalhousie University.

Aklilu Habte, 43, is President of Haile Selassie I University in Addis Ababa. Dr. Aklilu took a Bachelor of Education degree at the University of Manitoba in 1955, and a Master's degree and his Doctorate from Ohio State University. He was Dean of the Faculty of Arts at Haile Selassie University before becoming President. He has also been President of the Ethiopian Teachers' Association.

Archie Micay, 60, is a Queen's Counsel and a senior partner in the law firm of Walsh, Micay and Company. He was a member of the Board of Directors of the Centennial Commission of Canada, and is currently President of United Way of Winnipeg. He is also President of the Winnipeg Technion Society, and a member of the International Board of Directors of the Isreal Institute of Technology. He is a director of a farm machine manufacturing firm.

Theodore Schultz, 71, is Distinguished Professor Emeritus of Economics at the University of Chicago, where he was taught for 30 years. In 1946 he was a member of the American Famine Mission to India. From 1953 to 1957 he was Director of Studies at the Technical Association of Latin America In 1967 he was Co-Chairman of the Consultative Committee of the Asian Development Bank. From 1957 to 1972 he was a Trustee of the Population Council.

Soedjatmoko, 50, is Special Assistant to the President of Indonesia. His career has embraced journalism, politics and the foreign service. He was a member of the Indonesian Constituent Assembly 1956-59, and has on several occasions been advisor to, or a member of, the Indonesian delegation to the United Nations. In 1968 he became Personal Advisor to the Foreign Minister, Adam Malik, and then from 1968 to 1971 was Ambassador of Indonesia to the United States.

The continuing members of the IDRC Board of Governors are:

Louis Berlinguet, of Quebec City, (Vice-Chairman); W. David Hopper (President and Chief Executive Officer); Pierre Bauchet, of France; John Bene, of Vancouver; C. Fred Bentley, of Edmonton; Irving Brecher, of Montreal; Roberto Campos, of Brazil; Sir John Crawford, of Australia; A.L. Dias, of India; Lila Engberg, of Guelph; Paul Gérin-Lajoie, of Ottawa (President of the Canadian International Development Agency); Lady Jackson (Barbara Ward), of Britain; Rex Nettleford, of Jamaica; and H.A. Oluwasarmi, of Nigeria.