

news release

Date

For release

June 21, 1985

85/89

CANADIAN DELEGATION TO UNITED NATIONS WOMEN'S CONFERENCE ANNOUNCED

The Right Honourable Joe Clark, Secretary of State for External Affairs, and the Honourable Walter F. McLean, Minister Responsible for the Status of Women, today named the Canadian delegation to the United Nations World Conference on Women which will take place in Nairobi, Kenya, July 15-26, 1985. The Canadian delegation will be headed by Mr. McLean and will include federal and provincial ministers, parliamentarians and non-governmental representatives, all of whom are directly involved in advancing the status of women in Canada.

This Conference marks the culmination of the United Nations Decade for Women, 1976-1985. The purpose of the Conference is to examine the progress that has been made in achieving the Decade goals of equality, development and peace and its sub-themes of health, education and employment. In addition to reviewing the activities of the Decade, delegates will be developing strategies to overcome the obstacles in the path towards full equality for women.

'As a member of the United Nations Commission on the Status of Women, Canada has contributed to the work of the United Nations in the advancement of women globally throughout the Decade,' Mr. Clark said. 'It is my hope that we will continue this level of participation in the years ahead.'

Mr. McLean added that Canada's presence at the Conference reflects our long-term commitment to the goals of the Decade. 'The strong Canadian participation is consistent with the high priority the federal government places on measures to advance the status of Canadian women,' he said.

. . . 2



In addition to the official Conference, the federal government is providing financial assistance to approximately 60 Canadian women to attend Forum '85. This is a parallel meeting for representatives of non-governmental organizations.

The delegation list for the World Conference to Review and Appraise the Achievements of the United Nations Decade for Women is attached.

- 30 -

For further information:

Marie-Josée Lapointe Office of the Honourable Walter McLean (819) 997-7788

Vivian Collins Status of Women Canada (613) 995-3765 Carla Thorlakson External Affairs (613) 995-7873

CANADIAN DELEGATION

TO THE WORLD CONFERENCE TO REVIEW AND APPRAISE
THE ACHIEVEMENTS OF THE UNITED NATIONS DECADE FOR WOMEN

NAIROBI KENYA: 15-26 July 1985

HEAD OF DELEGATION

The Honourable Walter F. McLean, P.C., M.P. Secretary of State and Minister Responsible for the Status of Women

REPRESENTATIVES

Maureen O'Neil, Deputy Head of Delegation Co-ordinator, Status of Women Canada

The Honourable Flora MacDonald, P.C., M.P. Minister of Employment and Immigration

David Miller High Commissioner for Canada in Kenya

Lindsay Niemann
Special Co-ordinator for the Nairobi Conference
Department of External Affairs

ALTERNATE REPRESENTATIVES

PARLIAMENTARIANS

The Honourable Paul David Senator

Monique Landry, M.P.
Parliamentary Secretary to the
Honourable Walter F. McLean

Margaret Mitchell, M.P. Status of Women Critic, New Democratic Party

Gabrielle Bertrand, M.P.

Sheila Finestone, M.P. Status of Women Critic, Liberal Party

PROVINCIAL/TERRITORIAL MINISTERS

The Honourable Brian Peckford, P.C., M.H.A. Premier of Newfoundland

Representative to be named Government of Ontario

Representative to be named Government of Quebec

The Honourable Terence R.B. Donahoe, M.L.A. Minister of Education and Minister Responsible for the Status of Women, Nova Scotia

The Honourable Muriel Smith, M.L.A. Deputy Premier and Minister Responsible for the Status of Women, Manitoba

The Honourable Dick Johnston, M.L.A. Minister of Advanced Education and Minister Responsible for the Status of Women, Alberta

The Honourable Dennis G. Patterson, M.L.A. Minister Responsible for the Status of Women, Northwest Territories

NON-GOVERNMENTAL ORGANIZATIONS

Sylvia Gold President Canadian Advisory Council on the Status of Women

Doris Anderson Past-President National Action Committee on the Status of Women

Denyse Belanger-Rochon Présidente Fédération des Femmes du Québec

Diane Wood Vice-President at Large for British Columbia Canadian Labour Congress

Rhoda Innuksuk President Inuit Tapirisat of Canada Marjorie Ross Secretary for World Concerns Canadian Council of Churches

ADVISERS TO THE DELEGATION

Carolyn McAskie Director-General Multilateral Technical Cooperation Division Canadian International Development Agency

Julie Loranger Director Western Europe Relations Division Department of External Affairs

Louise Cornu-Holmes Director, Social Policy Status of Women Canada

Freda Paltiel Senior Advisor Status of Women Health and Welfare Canada

Susan McCoy Deputy Director Women and Development Canadian International Development Agency

Chris Greenshields First Secretary, Permanent Mission of Canada to the International Organizations in Vienna