

DEPARTMENT OF EXTERNAL AFFAIRS MINISTÈRE DES AFFAIRES EXTÉRIEURES

communiqué

N°: No.: 203

October 22, 1987.

THE MINISTER OF COMMUNICATIONS WILL LEAD THE CANADIAN

DELEGATION TO THE UNITED NATIONS EDUCATIONAL, SCIENTIFIC

AND CULTURAL ORGANIZATION TWENTY-FOURTH GENERAL CONFERENCE

PARIS

The Minister of External Relations, the Honourable Monique Landry, today announced that the Honourable Flora MacDonald, Minister of Communications, will lead the Canadian delegation to the 24th General Conference of UNESCO to be held in Paris, France, from October 20 to November 21, 1987. The principal members of the delegation are listed overleaf.

- 30 -



Delegates

The Honourable Flora MacDonald Minister of Communications (Head of Delegation)

H.E. Mr. Jean Drapeau Ambassador and Permanent Representative of Canada to UNESCO

H.E. Mrs. Julie Loranger Ambassador of Canada to Spain

Mr. A.W.J. Robertson Director, United Nations Affairs Division Department of External Affairs

Canadian Member of the Executive Board Vice-Chairman of the Executive Board

H.E. Mr. Ian Christie Clark

Delegate-General of Quebec to France

Mr. Jean-Louis Roy

Alternates

Dr. James Harrison President, Canadian Commission for UNESCO

Dr. Pierre Lucier President, Conseil supérieur de l'éducation, Quebec

Mr. David Bryce Wilson Department of External Affairs

Advisers

Commission I

Dr. Guy Bourgeault Vice-President, Canadian Commission for UNESCO

Mrs. Sylvia Gold President, Canadian Advisory Council on the Status of Women

Commission II

Mr. Alan Clarke Member, Sub-Commission on Education Canadian Commission for UNESCO Mrs. Madeleine Boivin
Department of the Secretary of State

Commission III

Dr. Robert Stewart Deputy Minister, Department of Universities, Science and Communicatins, British Columbia

Dr. Charles Smith Canadian Commission for UNESCO

Dr. Guy Gosselin Laval University

Commission IV

Dr. David Hemphill Executive Director, Manitoba Museum of Man and Nature

Prof. Thomas McPhail Graduate Programme in Communications Studies, University of Calgary, Alberta

Miss Marianne Scott National Librarian

Mrs. Louise Terrillon-Mackay Department of Communications

Commission V

Mr. Bernard Wood President, North-South Institute

Mrs. Francine Fournier Consultant (Human Rights)

Observers

Mr. Guy Létourneau Assistant Deputy Minister Department of Graduate Studies and Science, Quebec

Mr. Pierre-Denis Cantin Director of International Relations Department of Cultural Affairs, Quebec

Mr. Gabriel Gaudette Adviser for International Organizations Department of International Relations, Quebec